A A Email Print Share

The Catholic Faith and Culture and Spiritan Studies Award for Graduate Student Research


The Center for Catholic Faith and Culture and the Center for Spiritan Studies are pleased to announce two awards for graduate student research. Our aim is to celebrate and encourage graduate research that engages resources in Catholic intellectual traditions in general or Spiritan sources more particularly. Each award will include a prize of $250. The award will be offered to eligible work done in the disciplines of theology or philosophy.


Research projects accepted for the Graduate Student Reserach Symposium (GSRS) will be considered for the Catholic Intellectual Tradition and Spiritan Studies Graduate Student Research Awards.  To learn more about the GSRS and to submit an abstract visit their web page.  Read more about the Center for Catholic Faith and Culture and the Center for Spiritan Studies.

Evaluation Criteria

Relevant submissions will be evaluated according to the following criteria:

Substantive engagement with Catholic intellectual resources in general or Spiritan resources particularly

  • Clearly identifies Catholic or Spiritan resources (concepts, theories, thinkers, texts, practices, communities, cultural products) to be explored as the primary focus of research or applied in the service of another research topic
  • Demonstrates understanding of and facility with those resources

Scholarly merit

  • Clearly defined research agenda
  • Demonstrated familiarity with relevant literature
  • Depth of analysis
  • Clearly articulated and sound methodology
  • Critical thinking and originality

Communication of research

  • Organization and clarity
  • Effective use of poster format
2016 Winners:
  • Clement Kanu, Department of Theology,  "Christianity, Islam, and African Traditional Religion: A Christology of Mature Differentiation for Inter-religious Trialogue in the Nigerian Context"
  • Joseph Smith, Department of Theology, "The Story of a Schism: 500 Years of Reformation and Repair"
2015 Winners:
  • Zachary Dehm, Department of Theology, "Can Socially Responsible Investment Create a Preferential Option for the Poor?"
  • Clement Kanu, Department of Theology, "Embodied Narrative and the Formation of Virtue: Communitarian-Anamnetic Framework in Traditional African Ethic"
2014 Winner:
  • Joseph Smith, Department of Theology, "Ressourcement Theology and the Supernatural Debate: Toward a Christological Ontology"

2013 Winners:
  • Oleksandr Dubov, Center for Healthcare Ethics, "Religious Coping in the ICU"
  • Benjamin Burkholder, Department of Theology, "Misquoting Jesus?: John 1:18 as a Test Case"