Deborah G. Jozwiak

320 Fisher Hall
600 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15282
Phone: 412-396-1330
Fax: 412-396-1331

    A A Email Print Share

    Advisory Board

    Guiding The Wecht Institute in the development of its curricula and the selection of topics for its conferences and publications is an accomplished group of experts from the fields of forensic science, law, education, law enforcement and public policy.

    As members of The Wecht Institute’s Advisory Board, many of these experts also periodically lecture in the Institute’s academic programs and present papers at its annual conferences.

    Cyril H. Wecht, M.D., J.D. (Chair)
    Coroner, County of Allegheny
    Read Bio »

    Honorable Ruggero J. Aldisert
    Senior Circuit Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the 3rd Circuit

    The Honorable Donetta W. Ambrose
    United States District Court Judge, Western District of Pennsylvania

    George J. Annas, J.D., M.P.H.
    Edward R. Utley Professor and Chairman, Department of Health Law, Bioethics and Human Rights, Boston University

    Steven C. Batterman, Ph.D.
    Forensic Engineering Consultant; Professor Emeritus, University of Pennsylvania

    Alfred Blumstein, Ph.D.
    J. Erik Jonsson University Professor of Urban Systems and Operations Research, Carnegie Mellon University

    Ann Wolbert Burgess, D.N.Sc., R.N., CS, FAAN
    Professor, Connell School of Nursing, Boston College
    Read Bio>>

    W. Christopher Conrad, Esq.
    Attorney; Former Deputy District Attorney, Allegheny County

    Honorable Jay Costa
    State Senator, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

    Bruce W. Dixon, M.D.
    Director, Allegheny County Health Department

    Frederick W. Fochtman, Ph.D.
    Director, The Cyril H. Wecht Institute of Forensic Science and Law
    Professor of Pharmacology/Toxicology, Duquesne University

    Ronald Freeman
    Former Commander, Investigations Branch, Pittsburgh Bureau of Police

    Christine Funk, Esq.
    Office of the Public Defender, State of Minnesota

    Grace Ann Geibel, RSM, Ph.D.
    President Emeritus, Carlow College

    Neal H. Haskell, Ph.D.
    Professor of Entomology, St. Joseph's College

    David Christian Hassell, Ph.D.
    Director, Laboratory Division, Federal Bureau of Investigation

    Henry C. Lee, Ph.D.
    Chief Emeritus, Connecticut Department of Public Safety, Division of Scientific Services
    Read Bio>>

    Harry Litman, Esq.
    Of Counsel, Phillips & Cohen; Visiting Professor, Rutgers University School of Law
    Read Bio>>

    Michael J. Machen, Esq.
    Chief Public Defender, Allegheny County

    Charles Moffatt
    Superintendent, Allegheny County Police Department

    Jane Campbell Moriarty, J.D.
    Professor of Law, University of Akron School of Law

    William Moushey, M.S.
    Director, Innocence Institute of Western Pennsylvania

    Matthias I. Okoye, M.D. J.D.
    Director, Nebraska Forensic Medical Services and Director, Nebraska Institute of Forensic Sciences
    Read Bio>> 

    David Pauly, M.F.S. 
    Director and Prof. of Applied Forensic Science at Methodist University

    Mark W. Perlin, M.D., Ph.D.
    CEO and Chief Scientific Officer, Cybergenetics

    Mark M. Pollitt
    President, Digital Evidence Professional Services, Inc.; Former Director, Regional Computer Forensic Laboratory Program, Federal Bureau of Investigation

    Katherine M. Ramsland, Ph.D.
    Author and Assistant Professor of Forensic Psychology, DeSales University

    Michael F. Rieders, Ph.D.
    Chief Executive Officers, Laboratory Director and Forensic Toxicologist, National Medical Services

    Mark E. Safarik, M.S.
    President, Forensic Behavioral Services International

    Honorable Kevin G. Sasinoski
    Judge, Criminal Division, Allegheny County Court of Common Pleas

    L. Kathleen Sekula, Ph.D., APRN
    Professor of Nursing, Duquesne University

    Thomas Stangrecki
    Commander, Homicide Division, Pittsburgh Bureau of Police

    James E. Starrs, LL.M.
    Professor of Law and Professor of Forensic Sciences, George Washington University
    Read Bio>>

    Anjali Swienton, M.F.S., J.D.
    Director of Outreach, National Clearinghouse for Science, Technology and the Law

    Robert K. Tanenbaum, Esq.
    Private Attorney and Author

    Honorable David N. Wecht
    Administrative Judge, Family Division, Allegheny County Court of Common Pleas

    Michael Welner, M.D.
    Chairman, The Forensic Panel and Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry, New York University
    Read Bio>>