A A Email Print Share

Member Accomplishments

2016-2017 Distinguished Chapter Awards

Emily Atton, Distinguished Graduate Student Award

Julia Marn, Distinguished Senior Award

Corey Davis, Distinguished Underclassman Award

2017 URSS Award Winner

Natalia Wohar, "Body Posture and Perceptions of the Homeless"

2017 GRSS Award Winner

Tyler Dunn, "The association between medication adherence in mental illness and substance use disorder relapse in patients with dual diagnosis", PKP Outstanding Research Award for Graduate Symposium

Study Abroad Session A (for Fall 2016) Winner

Rachel Willis

Major:  Public Relations & International Relations with a minor in Women's and Gender Studies
Year: Junior 
Hometown: Erie, PA

Program Information:
"I will be studying in Valparaiso, Chile, this upcoming fall through the School for International Training (SIT). My program is focused on the Cultural Identity, Social Justice and Community Development in contemporary Chilean society. For part of my program I have to conduct a research project during my last four weeks in Chile."

"I intend to research the concept of role models within a collective society such as Chile and its impact on girls' empowerment, specifically when encouraging them to pursue non-traditional roles as adults, such as a career in politics. Additionally, I will be staying with an indigenous family for two weeks in the southern area of Chile to examine the challenges specific to the indigenous community from their perspectives. Overall, this experience will allow me to sharpen my Spanish fluency while immersing myself within Chilean culture and learning more about the country's political atmosphere, successful economic model and evolving social climate." 


2016 Spirit of Learning Award Winners

Nancy Trun, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences

Dr. Trun won in the interim. 

Sarah E. Wallace, Ph.D. CCC-SLP

Assistant Professor, Rangos School of Health Sciences, Speech-Language Pathology 

Undergraduate Research & Scholarship Symposium (URSS) Winners, 2016


Outstanding Research Award:

Kaitlyn Clem
Rioting Gender in Post-Soviet Russia: The Implications of Political and Doctrinal Rhetoric on Human Rights 

Honorable Mentions (2):

Gage Tiber
Detection of Lead in Drinking Water using Homemade and Inexpensive LED-based Fluorometer

Sabina Vaichys, Paige Coleman, Matthew Sears
Evaluation of appropriateness of vaccination procedures of the 13-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine and the 23-valent pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine in a hospital setting

Additional PKP Student Winners

Rachel Sweetnich

Rangos School of Health Sciences Award: Relating Structure and Function: A Histological Characterization of the Human Piriformis Muscle

Kiana Motto

School of Pharmacy Award: Development of a Design Space for Fluidized Bed Active Coating Process

Initiation Ceremony, April 2016


GSRS PKP Winners

Graduate Student Research Symposium, 3PM, Power Center Ballroom

November 6, 2015

Phi Kappa Phi Awards, Sponsored by Dean Reeder or the Bayer School:

(1) $500 Outstanding Research Award

(3) $250 honorable mentions

Evaluation Criteria

This award recognizes outstanding scholarship across all disciplines in the university. Posters and oral presentations were judged based on intellectual merits and demonstration that the research presented meets the standard of its field.

First Place

A Characterization of Equine Microflora in Response to a High Carbohydrate Diet: Comparing Fecal and Cecal Samples

Matthew Jevit, Josie Coverdale, Christine Warzecha, Jan Janecka, Ph.D.

Biology | Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences

Faculty Advisor: Jan Janecka, Ph.D.


Honorable Mentions

Teachers' Perceptions and Knowledge of the Bullying Experiences of LGBTQ Students

Suzannah Chatlos, Cassandra Berbary, Latitia Lattanzio

Counseling, Psychology, and Special Education | School of Education

Faculty Advisor: Laura Crothers, D.Ed., NCSP


A search for blood-induced promoters in Asaia sp. SF2.1 a midgut symbiont of the Anopheles vector

Jackie Shane, David Lampe, Lianna Paul

Biology | Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences

Faculty Advisor: David Lampe, Ph.D.


Pain Nanomedicine: COX-2 Targeted Theranostic Nanoemulsions Redesigned

Lu Liu, Sravan K. Patel, Michele Herneisey and Jelena Janjic, Ph.D.

Pharmaceutics | School of Pharmacy
Faculty Advisor: Jelena Janjic, Ph.D.

Oral Presentation and Poster

PKP Members Received Awards in the 2015 Undergraduate Research Symposium


Jessica Glas - Outstanding Scholarship

Sifat Maria - Outstanding Scholarship

Michael Romero Moore - Honorable Mention

Brandon Hoenig - Honorable Mention