How to Request Act 48 Hours/Credits.
Please contact Cindy Cafaro at 412.396.6093 or email@example.com. Please submit your request by visiting the ACT 48 Request Page.
Who Needs Act 48 Reporting?
All certified school personnel are covered under ACT 48. Effective July 1, 2000, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania enacted Act 48, mandating a continuing professional education program for professional educators to maintain active certification.
What is Needed to Comply with Act 48?
The continuing professional education program requires the satisfactory completion of continuing professional education every five (5) years. These requirements can be met by completing one of these options:
- six (6) credits of collegiate study;
- six (6) credits of continuing professional education courses;
- one hundred eighty clock hours (180) of continuing professional education programs, activities or learning experiences; or
- any combination of collegiate credits, continuing professional education courses, or other approved programs, activities or learning experiences equivalent to one hundred eighty (180) clock hours.
- legislation passed as of July 13, 2016 stipulates that if an educator exceeds the 180 hour requirement in this current compliance period, up to 50 excess hours or credit-equated hours earned within the last two years of the current compliance period may be attributed to the succeeding five-year compliance period.
How are credit hours and clock hours calculated?
The Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE) states that for the purposes of calculating hours and credits of continuing professional education, one (1) credit of collegiate studies or continuing professional education courses shall be equivalent to thirty (30) clock hours of continuing professional education programs, activities or learning experiences. Each hour of participation in an approved activity will be calculated as 1 clock hour of participation.
Who Qualifies for Act 48 Credit?
Only offerings made by "Approved Providers" qualify for Act 48 credit. The Duquesne University School of Education is an Approved Provider of collegiate studies.*
*At this time, Duquesne University is only able to offer Act 48 hours through credited courses only.
How Do I Know When my Act 48 Credits/Hours Have Been Reported?
You may check your Act 48 progress at the PA Department of Education Records Management Site