A A Email Print Share

Communication Department Events

Lambda Pi Eta Induction Ceremony

April 11th, 2014

The Lambda Pi Eta Induction Ceremony occured on April 11th, 2014. Guest speaker Dr. Gail T. Fairhurst, of the University of Cincinnati, gave a lecture titled "(Re)Framing: Creating Meaning and Dialogue." After the lecture, Ashley Cyprowski, President of Lambda Pi Eta (LPE), Sierra Lilac, Vice President, and Jayne R. Katherman, Secretary, invited the 2014 LPE inductees to come forward and be welcomed by the Communication and Rhetorical Studies Faculty to the LPE Organization.

Additionally, Graduate Student Awards were presented by Dr. Calvin Troup and Dr. Pat Arneson. Student David DeIuliis was presented the Wilhelm Wurtzer Award for Scholarship, student Jeff Lohr received the D. Clark Edwards Service Award, and student Hongchao Qian received the Richard H. Thames Teaching Award. Dr. Gail T. Fairhurst was presented the Scholar Award for Communication Excellence in Ethics Education for the Mind, Heart, and Spirit.

2014 Lambda Pi Eta Inductees:

Kellie Arlet Megan A. Gallagher Madison Taylot O'Neill
Carrie D. Barrow Erin Hess Penelope Person
Julianne Boyle Mary Houlette Alina J. Philips
Monica Marie Chmiel Amy M. Kerlin Megan Pilsner
Erika Ciesielski Ashley K. Knoch Brittany N. Reilly
Taylor Coniglio Julia Lamar Britney Alyssa Smith
Sarah Constant Jennifer E. Lamey Matthew Smith
Kaitlyn Davidson Jade Alexandra Leitzel Aileen St. Leger
Amy Del Rio-Gazzo Kristina Logan Erica Stevenson
Megan Foley Paige Malezi Sierra Walp
Shawna Luanne Foyle Chelsea Elizabeth Martin Caitlin Cade Young
Lila Ann Gabriel Brittany Nicole Nadia Nicole Zientek

Current Lambda Pi Eta Members:

Ashley Cyproski Audra Madeline Joseph Garret Wilson Nickles
Armani A. Davis Jayne R. Katherman Maresa Novakovich
Caitlyn Elizabeth Depp Nicole Kinter Cara Poletti
Kimberly Dombrowski Elizabeth Mary Klein Julia Allison Saunders
Jessica N. Downs Brenna Lang Colin J. Schmidt
Colin J. Drummond Emily Laumer Alrissa Tobe
Lindsay Feth Ethan Eric Leatherbarrow Kathryn E. Tomb
Ellen Gaus Sierra Lilac Carly Vendemia
Amity L. Hudak Beth Ann Maloney Allison Elizabeth White
Brittany Jermyn Lauren Markarian

Images from the event:

Dr. Arnett

Dr. Ronald C. Arnett introduces the ceremony.

Dr. Fairhurst

Dr. Gail T. Fairhurst delivers her lecture.

LPE onlookersFuture members of LPE await to be inducted.

LPE OfficersLPE Officers call future members forward.


Dr. Pat Arneson (left) hands graduate student David DeIuliis (right) the Wilhelm Wurtzer Award for Scholarship.


Dr. Calvin L. Troup (left) presents graduate student Jeff Lohr (right) the D. Clark Edwards Service Award.


Dr. Pat Arneson (left) presents graduate student Hongchao Qian (right) the Richard H. Thames Teaching Award.

Graduate Student Awards

Dr. Pat Arneson and Dr. Calvin L. Troup with graduate student award winners.


Dr. Calvin L. Troup and Dr. Janie M. Harden Fritz with Dr. Gail T. Fairhurst (right - left).

LPE Officers

LPE Officers after the event.

Sarah Flinko

Special thanks to graduate student Sarah Flinko for the succesful coordination of this event.