A A Email Print Share

Department News & Events

Fall 2014


December 5: Public Speaking and Business & Professional Contest

Pictured above: Public Speaking Contest winners and judges.

The Public Speaking Contest featured student-generated speeches from the university-wide public speaking course. Winners of the event were:

1st Place - Sydnie Pennington
Topic - Rosie the Riveter
- Informative

2nd Place - Eliza Fetter
Topic - Sexual Assault Prevention
- Ceremonial Speech

3rd Place - Don Crawford
Topic - Abraham Lincoln and the Emancipation Proclamation
- Informative Speech

Pictured above: Students presenting a poster to onlookers.

The Business & Professional Contest featured student researched and generated posters and presentations from the Business & Professional class sections. Winners of the event were:

1st Place - Haley Citrone, Jill Purcell, Patrick Bacza, Garrett DeOre and Matt Lennert
Poster Topic - Nestle

2nd Place - Brain Hawley, Allessandra Miller, Brianna Foster, Tyler Hamilton
Poster Topic - P&G

3rd Place - Amber Fitcher, Jon Drozd, Carly Cappelli, Kevin Berger, and Spencer Bergstein
Poster Topic - Carnival

Spring 2014


Lambda Pi Eta Induction Ceremony

Dr. Ronald C. Arnett, Ph.D. introduces the ceremony.

Graduate Student Award Winners

Dr. Ronald C. Arnett introduces the ceremony (left); Graduate Student Award Winners (right)

APRIL 11th: The Lambda Pi Eta Induction Ceremony occurred on April 11th, 2014. Guest speaker Dr. Gail T. Fairhurst, of the University of Cincinnati, gave a lecture titled "(Re)Framing: Creating Meaning and Dialogue." After the lecture, Ashley Cyprowski, President of Lambda Pi Eta (LPE), Sierra Lilac, Vice President, and Jayne R. Katherman, Secretary, invited the 2014 LPE inductees to come forward and be welcomed by the Communication and Rhetorical Studies Faculty to the LPE Organization.

2014 Lambda Pi Eta Inductees: Kellie Arlet, Carrie D. Barrow, Julianne Boyle, Monica Marie Chmiel, Erika Ciesielski, Taylor Coniglio, Sarah Constant, Kaitlyn Davidson, Amy Del Rio-Gazzo, Megan Foley, Shawna Luanne Foyle, Lila Ann Gabriel, Megan A. Gallagher, Erin Hess, Mary Houlette, Amy M. Kerlin, Ashley K. Knoch, Julia Lamar, Jade Alexandra Leitzel, Kristina Logan, Paige Malezi, Chelsea Elizabeth Martin, Brittany Nicole Nadia, Madison Taylor O'Neill, Penelop Person, Alina J. Philips, Megan Pilsner, Brittany N. Reilly, Britney Alyssa Smith, Matthew Smith, Aileen St. Leger, Erica Stevenson, Sierra Walp, Caitlin Cade Young, and Nicole Zientek.

Award Recipients:

  • Scholar Award for Communication Excellence in Ethics Education for the Mind, Heart, and Spirit - Dr. Gail T. Fairhurst

  • Wilhelm Wurtzer Award for Scholarship - David DeIuliis (Graduate Student)

  • D. Clark Edwards Service Award - Jeff Lohr (Graduate Student)

  • Richard H. Thames Teaching Award - Hongchao Qian (Graduate Student)