A A Email Print Share

Faculty

Pat Arneson, Ph. D.

Professor
College Hall 340B
412.396.6445
arneson@duq.edu

Ronald C. Arnett, Ph. D.

Chair & Professor
College Hall 340
412.396.6446
arnett@duq.edu

Garnet C. Butchart, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor
331 College Hall
412.396.2353
butchartg@duq.edu

Sarah M. Flinko, M.A.

Visiting Instructor
340 College Hall
412.396.6436
flinkos@duq.edu

Janie Harden Fritz, Ph. D.

Professor
College Hall 315/340
412.396.6558
harden@duq.edu

Erik Garrett, Ph. D.

Associate Professor
College Hall 305
412.396.1428
garrette@duq.edu

Craig T. Maier, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor
340 College Hall
412.396.4855
maier551@duq.edu

Kathleen G. Roberts, Ph. D.

Professor
G14 Assumption Hall
412.396.1142
robertskg@duq.edu

John Rief, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor
341 College Hall
412.396.2639
riefj@duq.edu

Inci Ozum Ucok-Sayrak, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor
340 College Hall
412.396.6446
sayraki@duq.edu

Richard H. Thames, Ph. D.

Associate Professor
College Hall 311
412.396.5077
thames@duq.edu

Anthony M. Wachs, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
341B College Hall
412.396.6460
wachsa@duq.edu

Visiting Scholars

Calvin L. Troup, Ph. D.

Visiting Scholar
340 College Hall
412.396.6444
troup@duq.edu

Calvin L. Troup, Ph.D., Rhetorical Theory and Criticism, the Pennsylvania State University, PA 1994, is president of Geneva College, Beaver Falls, PA, editor elect of Explorations in Media Ecology, and Visiting Scholar, Department of Communication & Rhetorical Studies, Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA. Dr. Troup was employed by the Department of Communication & Rhetorical Studies for 20 years and worked as associate professor and director of the Rhetoric Ph.D. Program. His communication research agenda focuses on the rhetoric and philosophy of St. Augustine and rhetoric of technology from media ecology perspectives informed by the work of Jacques Ellul and Walter J. Ong. His published work includes Augustine for the Philosophers: The Rhetor of Hippo, the Confessions, and the Continentals (2014), Temporality, Eternity, and Wisdom: The Rhetoric of Augustine's Confessions (1999), scholarly book chapters, and articles in journals such as Communication Quarterly, Explorations in Media Ecology, Rhetoric Society Quarterly, The Journal of Communication and Religion, and The Journal of Business Ethics.

Isaac E. Catt, Ph. D.

Visiting Scholar
340 College Hall
412.396.6460

Isaac E. Catt, Ph.D., Communicology (Philosophy and Theory of Communication and Culture, Interpersonal and Rhetorical Communication), Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, IL 1982, achieved full professor rank eight years after receiving the doctorate degree, was tenured in three universities, chaired four academic departments, and was a faculty senate chair. Retiring from the California State University system in 2009, he is Visiting Scholar, Simon E. Silverman Phenomenology Center and Department of Communication & Rhetorical Studies, Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA, USA, where he regularly delivers public lectures. His teaching career spans more than four decades.