Department of English & Theater Arts

Nora McBurney, Administrative Assistant
637 College Hall
600 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15282
Email: mcburne655@duq.edu
Phone: 412.396.6420
Fax: 412.396.1112

Department News and Events

Spring 2016 Pre-registration Begins
October 26

Dissertation Presentation: Maureen Gallagher
October 30

Dissertation Presentation: Matthew Vickless
November 3

Colloquium
November 13

Thanksgiving Break
November 23-28
No classes; Offices closed November 26 and 27

Last day of Fall classes
December 7

Holy Day: No classes, Offices Closed
December 8

Final Exams
December 9-15

Graduation
December 17

Spring semester begins
January 6

Please see the News and Events page for exciting faculty news and information on these
upcoming events.

A A Email Print Share

Faculty & Staff

Spring 2016 Faculty Office Hours

English Faculty

 

adamsAnthony Adams, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Medieval Literature, Old & Middle English, Lit. Theory 
412.396.6438
631B College Hall 
adamsa8@duq.edu 

 

barnhiselGreg Barnhisel, Ph.D.

Professor
Rhetoric & Composition, Modernism
Department Chair
412.396.6432
637C College Hall
barnhiselg@duq.edu

                                  

Faith Barrett, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Nineteenth C. American Studies, Twentieth C. American Poetry, Modern Lyric Poetry
412.396.5165
628 College Hall 
barrettf@duq.edu 

  

cepekRebecca Cepek, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor
412.396.6427
631 College Hall
cepekr@duq.edu

  

Ava CipriAva Cipri, M.F.A.

Full-time Instructor of Writing
412.396.4115
627 College Hall
cipria@duq.edu

 

Laura EngelLaura Engel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Restoration & Eighteenth C. Literatures, Dramatic Literature, Feminist Theory
Director of Graduate Studies

412.396.1425
632A College Hall
engell784@duq.edu

 

John FriedJohn Fried, M.F.A., M.A.

Associate Professor
Fiction/Creative Writing, Film Studies

412.396.6428
624 College Hall
friedj@duq.edu

 

gibson Anna Gibson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
19th Century British Fiction

412.396.6431
630 College Hall
gibsona@duq.edu

Kathy Glass, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
African-American Literature, Women's Studies

412.396.1424
629 College Hall
glassk@duq.edu

 

Susan HowardSusan K. Howard, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
The Novel, British Literature of the Long Eighteenth C.
412.396.6441
622 College Hall
howard@duq.edu

 

Linda KinnahanLinda Arbaugh Kinnahan, Ph.D.

Professor
Twentieth C. American & British Poetry, Feminist Theory

412.396.6440
623 College Hall
kinnahan@duq.edu

 

TKinnahanThomas P. Kinnahan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
American LIterature

412.396.6439
630A College Hall
kinnahant@duq.edu

kishbaughJustin Kishbaugh, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
kishbaughj@duq.edu 

 

klucevsekKristin Klucevsek, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor, Science Writing
412.396.6427
631 College Hall
klucevsekk@duq.edu 

 

KurlandStuart M. Kurland, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Literature of the English Renaissance, Shakespeare

412.396.6424
621 College Hall
kurland@duq.edu

martinJeff Martin, M.F.A.

Visiting Assistant Professor
412.396.4643
625 College Hall
martin15@duq.edu

mayRebecca May, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor
412.396.4115
627 College Hall
mayr1@duq.edu

  

michaelMagali Cornier Michael, Ph.D.

Professor
Contemporary British & American Fiction, Feminist Theory
Associate Dean, McAnulty College of Liberal Arts

412.396.5179
626 College Hall
michael@duq.edu

 

Emad Mirmotahari, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
African, African-American, & black diasporic literatures, World Literature

630B College Hall
mirmotaharie@duq.edu

 

James PurdyJames P. Purdy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Rhetoric & Composition, Writing & Technology
Director of the University Writing Center
412.396.1293
620 College Hall
purdyj@duq.edu

 

Gregory Specter, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
specterg@duq.edu

speeseErin Johns Speese, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
speesee@duq.edu

stinnettJerry Stinnett, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Rhetoric & Composition, History of Composition
Director of First-Year Writing
412.396.6433
637E College Hall
stinnettj@duq.edu

Danielle St HilaireDanielle A. St. Hilaire, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
British Renaissance Poetry, Milton

Director of Undergraduate Studies
412.396.6435
632B College Hall
sthilaired@duq.edu

 

Judy SuhJudy Suh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
British Modernism, Postcolonial Theory
 
412.396.1426
619 College Hall
suhj@duq.edu   

                   

ussiaMatthew Ussia, Ph.D.           

Visiting Assistant Professor
412.396.4643
625 College Hall
ussiam@duq.edu                            

                                                                                                                                             

wrightSarah Breckenridge Wright, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Medieval and Early Modern Literature, History of the English Language
412.396.1278
631A College Hall
wrights3@duq.edu

 

Frederick Newberry, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
American Literature
newberryf@duq.edu

Daniel Watkins, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Romanticism
watkins@duq.edu

Theater Arts Faculty and Staff

laneJohn E. Lane, Jr., M.A.

Associate Professor
Director of Theater Arts
412.396.6429
623A/B College Hall
lanej@duq.edu

sinesJustin Sines

Technical Director, Genesius Theater
412.396.3237
Genesius Theater, Room B03
sines908@duq.edu

Adjunct Faculty 

 

Jill Jeffrey
jeffreyj@duq.edu

 

love

Nancy Love
623A College Hall
loven@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

vincent

Timothy Vincent, Ph.D.
637 College Hall
vincent841@duq.edu
412.396.2646

 

 

Teaching Assistants

All Teaching Assistants are located in 639A College Hall.

 

Katelyn Antolik
antolikk@duq.edu

Marla Anzalone
anzalon1@duq.edu

baranowski

Kelly Baranowski
baranowskik@duq.edu

 

Bethany Biesinger
biesingerb@duq.edu

Carol Fox
foxc1@duq.edu

 

John Hadlock
hadlockj@duq.edu

Sarah Hancock
hancocks@duq.edu

 


Allison Keene
keenea1@duq.edu

kunsaAshley Kunsa
kunsaa@duq.edu

  

Rachel Luckenbill

luckenbillr@duq.edu

Christopher Maverick
maverickc@duq.edu 

 

Marissa Mosley
mosleym@duq.edu

powell

Will Powell
powellw1@duq.edu

 

Cheryl Read
readc@duq.edu

 

  

 

reznik

Alexandra Reznik
reznika@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

Josie Rush
rushj@duq.edu

Whitney Sandin
sandinw@duq.edu

                               

Nathan Shuey

shueyn@duq.edu



Noel Stanger

stangern@duq.edu

tavela

Sara Tavela
tavelas@duq.edu

 

 

 

Shawn Watkins

watkinss@duq.edu

 

Lisa Weddell
weddell1@duq.edu

 

David Young
youngd4@duq.edu

 






Staff

 

Nora McBurney, MBA
Administrative Assistant
412.396.6420
412.396.1112 (fax)
637 College Hall
mcburne655@duq.edu

 

Anna Harp
Graduate Assistant
harpa@duq.edu