Philosophy Department

303 College Hall
600 Forbes Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15282
Phone: 412 396 6500
Fax: 412 396 5353

Ron Polansky
Chair
polansky@duq.edu

Daniel Selcer
Director of Graduate Studies
selcerd@duq.edu

Michael Harrington
Director of Undergraduate Studies
harringtonm@duq.edu

Joan Thompson
Administrative Assistant
thompson@duq.edu

A A Email Print Share

Graduate Students in Philosophy

Additional Information about Graduate Students

Current Graduate Students 2015-2016

(Contact philprint@duq.edu for updates)

Name

E-mail

Areas of Interest

Gizem Atalay atalayg@duq.edu
Nicholas Brown brownn2@duq.edu Lacan and the history of psychoanalysis; Nietzsche; Heidegger; 20th C. Analytic philosophy; Literary and critical theory; Logic.
Adam Burnfin burnfina@duq.edu

Plato, Aristotle, Kant, Hegel, Marx, Freud, Deleuze

Thomas Cantone cantonet@duq.edu German Idealism (esp Kant, Hegel) and Romanticism; the German Enlightenment and its critics; Critical Theory; Marx; Post-modernity and post-modern literature; Jameson; Brecht
Anthony Celi celia@duq.edu Social-Political philosophy, Heidegger, and Ethics.
Roland Carspecken Carspeckenr@duq.edu 19th Century and Contemporary French and German Philosophy: On Language, Communication, intersubjectivity and Social Theory.
Alexander Crist Crista@duq.edu
Tylor Cunningham Cunnin21@duq.edu Plato, Aristotle, Epicurean Ethics, Daseinsanalysis, and Medieval Philosophy.
Magdalena Figiel figielm@duq.edu
Timothy Frazier frazier2@duq.edu
Paul di Georgio digeorgiop@duq.edu 19th-20th C. French, German, & Italian Philosophy: epistemology, phenomenology and psychoanalysis
Ned Goertzen goertzenn@duq.edu
Alexander Gorman gormana2@duq.edu Phenomenology, Psychoanalysis, and Deconstruction.
Aaron Higgins-Brake higginsbrakea@duq.edu Ancient and Medieval Philosophy (esp. Neoplatonism)
Fr. Francois Kodena kodenaf@duq.edu Political Philosophy, Kemetic Maatism, Egyptology, Afrosofia, Philosophical Corporeality, and History of Philosophy.
Michael Kramer kramerm1@duq.edu
Jeff Lambert Lambert2@duq.edu Early modern philosophy, contemporary French philosophy, questions of intimacy, philosophy of gender, race, and sexuality.
Tristana Martin-Rubio martinrubiot@duq.edu Phenomenology.
Benjamin Maynard Maynard1@duq.edu Satrean Existentialism, Psychoanalysis, Selfhood/Autonomy.
Michael Mburu mburum@duq.edu African Philosophy (Ethics), Aristotle, Aquinas and Lonergan.
Ellen Moysan moysane@duq.edu
Jiho Oh ohj1@duq.edu German Idealism, Contemporary French Philosophy, Post--modern Ontology, Modern and Contemporary Ethics.
Alessio Rotundo rotundoa@duq.edu Phenomenology and contemporary hermeneutics (Husserl, Heidegger, Merleau-Ponty, Nietzsche, Gadamer, Vattimo).
Anna Shevchenko shevchenkoa@duq.edu Phenomenology/Existentialism, Philosophy of Feelings/Emotion, 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Merleau-Ponty.
Luke Schumacher schumac1@duq.edu
Zachary Slanger slangerz@duq.edu Philosophy of Sex and Sexuality; German Idealism (esp. Schelling and Hegel); French Existential Phenomenology (esp. Sartre and de Beauvoir); Psychoanalysis (esp. Freud, Ferenczi, Lacan, and Laplanche); Queer Theory; Feminist Philosophy; Philosophy and Literature; Pessimism/Tragedy in Philosophy.
Frank Smecker Smeckerf@duq.edu German Idealism, Psychoanalysis, Structuralism, Film & Literature Studies and the Narrative Form.
Josh Sturman sturmanj@duq.edu Social Political Philosophy (esp. Marxism, Feminism, Post-Colonial Studies), Existentialism (esp. Heidegger, Buber), Plato, Virtue Ethics
Ryne Tobar tobarr@duq.edu History of Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Existentialism, Critical Theory.
Bradley Van Uden vanudenb@duq.edu Plato, Aristotle.
Trey Weise weisef@duq.edu
Kimberly Zwez zwezk@duq.edu Phenomenology (Husserl, Heidegger); Philosophy of Religion (esp. Kant, Hegel, and Nietzsche); History of Modern Philosophy; Philosophy of Logic.

ABD Students

Stephanie Adair

adairs@duq.edu German Idealism, Epistemology, Feminist Theory
C. Dominic Alvarado alvaradoc@duq.edu Catholic Philosophy, German Idealism, and Phenomenology, especially Aquinas, Kant, Hegel, and Heidegger.
Jim Bahoh bahohj@duq.edu Deleuze, Heidegger, Contemporary Ontology, History of Philosophy.

Tiah Balcer

balcert@duq.edu
Thomas Ball ballt1@duq.edu Ancient Philosophy and the Intersection of Theory and Practice

Karim Barakat

barakatk@duq.edu History of Political Philosophy, Critiques of Liberalism, Foucault,
Contemporary Arabic Philosophy

Joy Bradley

simmonsj1799@duq.edu
William Davenport davenportw@duq.edu Kant's Moral Theory, Virtue Ethics and Bioethics
Minglai Dong dongm@duq.edu Phenonenology, Semiotics, and Confucius Ethics
Derek Elliott elliottd@duq.edu
Jacob Greenstine greenstinea@duq.edu Ancient philosophy (esp. Aristotle's theoretical philosophy), German Idealism (esp. Hegel), early modern Sciences, and contemporary materialisms and realisms.
Justin Habash habashj@duq.edu
John Harvey harveyj@duq.edu Metaphysics, Mind-Body Problem, Philosophy of Mind, Logic
Boram Jeong jeongb@duq.edu
Andrew Jussaume jussaumea@duq.edu
Martin Krahn krahnm@duq.edu German Idealism, Philosophy of Nature, Marx and Marxism, History and Philosophy of Science
Fergus Laughland laughlandf@duq.edu
Peter Libbey libbeyp@duq.edu German Idealism, contemporary French philosophy, and intercultural philosophy
Ryan Lingo lingor@duq.edu
Matthew Lovett lovettm@duq.edu Deleuze, Hegel, Lacan & Psychoanalysis, German Idealism, Philosophy of Art, Women's & Gender Studies.
Rev. Christopher Mbogu mbogu887@duq.edu
Christopher Murry murryc@duq.edu
Brandon Nelson nelson240@duq.edu
Sila Ozkara ozkaras@duq.edu German Idealism, Early Modern Philosophy, Theories of Cognition, Language.
Ryan Pfahl pfahlr@duq.edu
Ariana Ragusa ragusaa@duq.edu
Chris Rawls rawlsc@duq.edu
Early Modern (Spinoza), Critical Race Theory,
Philosophy of Psychology & Education,
Bergson, de Beauvoir, Deleuze
Adam P. Roos roosa@duq.edu
Nalan Saraç saracn@duq.edu
Norman Schultz schultzn@duq.edu
Clancy Smith smithc4@duq.edu Pragmatism, Critical Theory
Bethany Somma sommab@duq.edu Platonism, Arabic Philosophy, Nietzsche, Philosophy and Adoption
Evan Strevell strevelle@duq.edu Ancient Philosophy, Memory, Ethics, History of Philosophy
James Taylor taylorj1801@duq.edu Critical Philosophies of Race and Gender, Philosophy of Technology, Martin Heidegger, and Divine Command Theory.
Luke Trusso trussol@duq.edu Enviromental Philosophy, Nietzsche, Existentialism, Aesthetics
Matt Valentine valentine944@duq.edu Kant, French Continental Philosophy, Subjectvity and the Science of the Subject.
Becky  Vartabedian vartabedianr@duq.edu Contemporary Continental Philosophy
Philosophy and Mathematics
History of Philosophy
Kelsey Ward wardk1@duq.edu Ancient Greek and Roman philosophy
Katherine Weber weber496@duq.edu
Paul Zipfel zipfelp@duq.edu Phenomenology, Intersubjectivity, Forgiveness, and Evil

Additional Information about Graduate Students