A A Email Print Share

News, Events and Awards

Fall 2016

Recent News

D-WiP hosted their fourth conference 24–25 March 2017, “Critical Philosophies of Life,” with a keynote address given by Dr. Cynthia Willett (Emory). More information can be found on D-WiP’s page.

Recent Dissertation Defenses

James Taylor, “Techno-Racism: Heidegger’s Philosophy of Technology and Critical Philosophies of Race,” Director: Prof. George Yancy. 14 November 2016.

Justin Habash, “Early Greek Philosophy and the Discovery of Nature,” Director: Prof. Ronald Polansky. 23 September 2016.

Evan Strevell, “Memory, Phantasia, and the Perception of Time: a Commentary on Aristotle’s De memoria,” Director: Prof. Ronald Polansky. 15 September 2016.

Ariana Ragusa, “Vico’s Fabulous Beginnings: From the Forests to the Academies,” Director: Prof. Fred. Evans. 22 August 2016.

Recent Awards

Aaron Higgins-Brake, Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst Intensive Language Scholarship, 2016

NIcholas Brown, Adam Burnfin, Thomas Cantone, Aaron Higgins-Brake, Jiho Oh, Luke Schumacher, Zach Salnger, Ryne Tobar, and Kimberly Zwez were all awarded the Polansky Grant for Foreign Language Study

Fall 2014–Spring 2015

Recent Awards

For more extensive information about the awards and the award winners from this year, see the University’s article.

Martin Krahn (above) and Paul Zipfel both received Fulbright Scholarships and will be studying in Germany.

Bethany Somma is the recipient of a three year research fellowship from the Munich School of Ancient Philosophy. She will be doing her research at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich.

Tristana Martin-Rubio received the 2015 DAAD intensive language grant and will be studying at the Goethe Institute in Berlin over the summer.

Alessio Rotundo was awarded the Chateaubriand Spring Fellowship for Spring 2016.

Matthew Lovett was awarded the 2014–15 Charles Dougherty Graduate Philosophy Teaching Award.

Matthew Yaw received the 2015 Philosophy Essay Prize, for his paper, “Nietzsche’s Paean to War.”

Fellowship Recipients

Congratulations to Boram Jeong and Jim Bahoh, both of whom received the McAnulty Dissertation Fellowship for 2014–2015.

Dr. Thomas Rockmore appointed Professor Emeritus

The Philosophy Department is pleased to announce that Dr. Rockmore has received the title of Professor Emeritus of the McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts. During his 28 years at the university he has published over 20 books and over 400 scholarly articles (many of which have been translated into other languages). Dr. Rockmore had previously held the position of Distinguished McAnulty Professor of Philosophy.

Congratulations to Bethany Somma, winner of our 2013 essay award competition!

Congratulations to Bethany; her essay  “Adoptees and Philosophers: Searching for Self and Stability in Stoic Therapy,” won this year’s essay award competition and was presented earlier this year at one of the Graduate Students in Philosophy (GSiP) colloquia as well.

Congratulations to Andrew Jussaume, Recipient of the 2014 Charles S. Dougherty Graduate Teaching Award

We are very proud of Andrew Jussaume and the excellent work he has done and will continue to do.

Fall 2012–Spring 2013

Jacob Greenstine receives Fulbright Fellowship

We are pleased to offer congratulations to Ph.D. student Jacob Greenstine for his award of a 2013–14 Fulbright Fellowship.  He will spend the year in Kassel, Germany, conducting research for his dissertation on non-being in Aristotle's Metaphysics with Prof. Dr. Gottfried Heinemann.

Congratulations to the following award winners:

Sila Ozkara has received the 2013 Phi Kappa Phi honor society Love of Learning award. She plans to use the award to purchase an edition of Hegel’s works in German.

Ryan Johnson received the Graduate School’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship.

Jacob Graham is the recipient of Duquesne’s first Distinguished Dissertation Award in the Humanities Division for his work, “The Flourishing Self in Aristotle and the Authentic Self in Heidegger.” Jacob defended in March of 2012, his dissertation was directed by Dr. Michael Harrington.

Martin Krahn earned a DAAD Intensive Language Course Grant. He will be studying at the Goethe Intsitut in Berlin from June 3rd to August 3rd.

There are two winners of the 2012 Graduate Philosophy Essay Award: Jacob Greenstine for his “Why Galileo Matters” and Matt Lovett for his “Rothko’s Negative Theology.”

Grant Recipients

Congratulations to Matt Lovett, recipient of the Faculty Development Grant! Matt has developed a “Philosophy before and after the Holocaust” course, to be taught in Spring 2014 that will involve a spring break away trip to Berlin.

Pittsburgh Summer Symposium in Contemporary Philosophy:
Schelling and Naturphilosophie, August 5–9

In recent years there has been a surge of research on Schelling, aided in the English speaking world by a number of recent translations. This movement has included reexaminations of Schelling as a figure in the history of philosophy, as a source of influence on a number of twentieth century thinkers, and as a rich resource for addressing contemporary philosophical debates.

This project was awarded a grant from the NEH to bring together an international group of graduate students, postdoctoral students, and junior faculty for a week of discussion, lecture, and close textual study concerning this important philosopher. We will examine questions about nature, objectivity, matter, life, knowledge, and whether or not transcendental philosophy can be reconciled with the findings of the empirical sciences.

Please find more information on the website here.

The Inaugural Pennsylvania Circle of Ancient Philosophy Conference Was a Success!

Congratulations and thanks to conference organizers Jacob Greenstine and Bethany Somma! The first PCAP was an excellent event filled with high quality scholarly papers. More information about the conference, including pictures from the event, can be found here.

Department Highlights

Jacob Greenstine has been awarded a 2013–14 Fulbright Fellowship to research his dissertation on non-being in Aristotle’s Metaphysics. He will spend the year at the University of Kassel in Germany working with Prof. Dr. Gottfried Heinemann.

Jennifer Bates hosted a conference on Hegel’s Logic last semester on October 28th. Panel participants included Jay Lampert (University of Guelph), John Russon (University of Guelph), David Morris (Concordia University), and Tom Rockmore.

Louis Bulter, an undergraduate major, has been award a Fulbright Scholarship to study in Munich for the academic year 2011–12. Pittsburgh Tribune Article.

Daniel Selcer has recently spoken on early modern materialism at the University of Pittsburgh, on the importance of history for philosophy at Slippery Rock University, on Spinoza’s account of individualism at the University of Guelph, and on the idea of ‘operative science’ in Bacon and Spinoza at Simon Fraser University. We are also pleased to announce that Dan is being awarded the McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts Faculty Teaching Award for his fine classroom work.

Graduate Newsletters

Vol. 1 Issue 1: Spring 2008
Vol. 1 Issue 2: Fall 2008
Vol. 2 Issue 1: 2009
Vol. 2 Issue 2: Spring 2010
Vol. 3 Issue 1: Fall 2010
Vol. 3 Issue 2: Winter 2011
Vol. 4 Issue 1: Spring 2011
Vol. 5 Issue 1: Spring 2012
Vol. 6 Issue 1: Spring 2013
Vol. 7 Issue 1: Spring 2014
Vol. 8 Issue 1: Spring 2015
Vol. 9 Issue 1: Spring 2016
Vol. 9 Issue 1 [sic]: Spring 2017