A A Email Print Share

Faculty Research and Scholarly Interests

NAME

RESEARCH and SCHOLARLY INTERESTS

Nancy Brom, MSN, RN

brom@duq.edu

412-396-4509

  • Medical-surgical nursing
  • Clinical critical care
  • OB
  • Teaching strategies

Lichun (Rebecca) Chia, PhD, RN

chial@duq.edu

412-396-4102

  • Chronic diseases self-management (with emphases of adults/older adults with diabetes and cardiovascular disease risks)
  • Patient-centered care/medical home
  • Behavioral intervention utilizing health information technology (HIT)
  • Adherence (medication and life-style modifications)
  • Healthcare disparities

Alison Colbert, PhD, APRN, BC

colberta@duq.edu

412-396-1511

  • Community health, incarcerated adults, health literacy
  • HIV/AIDS/infectious disease, adherence, health promotion and care in vulnerable populations
  • Patient engagement

Mark Crider, PhD, MSN, BS

criderm@duq.edu

412-396-2308

  • Community mental health
  • Psycho-social rehabilitation and chronic mental illness
  • Health policy
  • Leadership development and professions
  • Academic administration

Alicia Culleiton, DNP, RN, CNE

culleitona@duq.edu

412-396-6547

  • Clinical pedagogies for faculty and nursing staff
  • Student remediation
  • NCLEX
  • EBP initiatives

Leah Cunningham, MNEd, RN

cunningh@duq.edu

412.396.6383

  • End of life issues in oncology nursing
  • Cervical cancer
  • International research
  • Gerontology
  • End of life
  • Palliative care
  • Curriculum design
  • Academic success initiatives
  • Testing support
  • Remediation

Jessica Devido, PhD, MSN, CPNP

devidoj@duq.edu

412-396-1032

  • Maternal and child health
  • Health promotion for women with diabetes
  • Breastfeeding

Sister Rosemary Donley, PhD, APRN-BC, FAAN

donleyr@duq.edu

412-396-6555

  • Vulnerable populations
  • Social justice
  • Health policy
  • Nursing education
  • Chronic illness

Mary Ellen Glasgow, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN

glasgowm@duq.edu

412-396-6553

  • Nursing education innovation
  • Inter-professional simulation
  • Bone marrow donation
  • Oncology
  • Leadership

Linda Goodfellow, PhD, RN

goodfellow@duq.edu

412-396-6548

  • Complementary therapies
  • Oncology
  • Caregiver stress
  • Psychoneuroimmunology
  • Health promotion
  • Intervention research
  • ETDs knowledge and use

Carolyn Griffin, MSN, RN

griffinc1399@duq.edu

412-396-5229

  • Diabetic care issues
  • Clinical research
  • Student evaluation
  • Goals outcomes
  • Nursing education

Mary Elizabeth Guimond, PhD, WHNP-BC

guimondm@duq.edu

412-396-1386

  • Evaluation of educational technologies in nursing education
  • Women's health/obstetrics (adolescent STI, cancer)

Rosanna Henry, MSN, RN

henryr@duq.edu

412-396-6120

  • Skill acquisition
  • Simulation

Karen Jakub, PhD, RN

jakubk@duq.edu

412-396-6535

  • Chronic heart disease
  • Qualitative research methods
  • Technology interventions for cardiac arrhythmias

Catherine Johnson, PhD, FNP, PNP

johnso99@duq.edu

412-396-6542

  • Use of mindfulness practices in healthcare
  • Immigrant health
  • Patient centered medical home effectiveness

Melissa Kalarchian, PhD

kalarchianm@duq.edu

412-396-5204

  • Obesity and bariatric surgery
  • Behavioral lifestyle intervention
  • Psychosocial functioning
  • Health behaviors
  • Clinical studies

Linda Koharchik DNP, MSN, CNA-BC

koharchikl@duq.edu

412-396-4229

  • Medical-surgical nursing
  • Nursing administration
  • Evidence-based nursing practice
  • Safe practice by nursing students

Rebecca Kronk, PhD, CRNP

kronkr@duq.edu

412-396-4228

  • Sleep in vulnerable pediatric populations (i.e. Fragile X syndrome, autism)
  • Community service learning
  • Relationship of sleep on daytime functioning in various populations of children
  • Grandparents raising grandchildren

Maureen Leonardo, MN, CNE, CRNP, BC

leonardo@duq.edu

412-396-6539

  • Older adult and primary care - clinical research
  • Health and wellness
  • Academic health centers

Debra Lewis, MSN, RN, CPN

lewisd@duq.edu

412-396-5227

  • Simulation
  • NCLEX
  • Nursing education
  • Pediatrics

Joan Such Lockhart, PhD, RN, CORLN, AOCN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN

lockhart@duq.edu

412-396-6540

  • Improving health outcomes in vulnerable populations related to chronic illness, especially cancer care:
    - Primary and secondary prevention (oncology)
    - Nursing education, professional (staff and leadership) development; distance education
    - Qualitative & quantitative methods

Mary Kay Loughran, DNP, MHA

loughranm@duq.edu

412-396-6537

  • Second Degree students, their socialization and success post-graduation
  • Pediatrics
  • Vulnerable populations

Denise Lucas, PhD, RN, CRNP

lucasd2495@duq.edu

412-396-4230

  • Women's Health
  • Working women who remain poor
  • The uninsured
  • Well-being
  • Learned resourcefulness

Sr. Mary Meyers, BA, MS, BSN

meyersm1@duq.edu

412-396-1282

  • Student remediation

Lenore Resick, PhD, RN, CRNP, FNP- BC, FAANP

resick@duq.edu

412-396-5228

  • Environmental health and vulnerable populations
  • Health of older adults
  • Health of Appalachian, refugee and immigrant women
  • Qualitative methods

Cynthia Rost, MSN

rostc@duq.edu

412-396-6459

  • Nursing administration

Khlood Salman, DrPH, RN

salmank@duq.edu

412-396-1509

  • Chronic disease prevention and health promotion
  • Women's health and issues related to health disparities
  • Global and international health issues
  • Environmental health
  • Interfaith dialogue studies

Kathleen Sekula, PhD, APRN

sekula@duq.edu

412-396-4865

  • Vulnerable populations
  • Psychiatric implications in forensic nursing
  • Victims of violence
  • Domestic violence
  • Sexual assault
  • Forensic nursing

Lynn Simko, PhD, RN, CCRN

simko@duq.edu

412-396-5096

  • Quality of life
  • Congenital heart disease
  • Intensive care nursing
  • Simulation and student outcomes
  • Pain research
  • Adults with congenital heart disease

Cherith Simmer, MS, RN

simmer@duq.edu

412-396-6556

  • Nursing Administration; Recruitment; Marketing
  • Nursing Education
  • Medical-Surgical Nursing

Melanie Turk, PhD, RN

turkm@duq.edu

412-396-1817

  • Obesity, weight loss and maintenance
  • Health promotion and CVD risk reduction

Eric Vogelstein, PhD

vogelsteine@duq.edu

412-396-4466

  • Ethical issues in advanced directives
  • Decision making capacity/competence
  • Surrogate decision making
  • Prenatal life
  • Ethics expertise and ethics consultation
  • Medical enhancement
  • Physician assisted dying
  • Autonomy and paternalism

Cynthia Walters, DNP, MSN, RN

walters362@duq.edu

412-396-1513

  • Forensic nursing
  • Holistic nursing
  • Community health and wellness

Yvonne Weideman, DNP, MSN, RN

weidemany@duq.edu

412-396-4508

  • Grandparents raising their grandchildren
  • Service learning/community engaged research and scholarship
  • Virtual characters/patients
  • Wound skin ostomies

Andrea Yevchak, PhD, GCNS-BC, RN

yevchaka@duq.edu

412-396-6543

  • Older adults
  • Dementia and delirium
  • Delirium superimposed on dementia
  • Potentially inappropriate medication use in older adults
  • Care transitions
  • Traditional care

Rick Zoucha, PhD, APRN-BC, CTN-A

zoucha@duq.edu

412-396-6545

  • Community based research
  • Psychiatric nursing
  • Transcultural/international nursing
  • Cultural competence/Mexican Americans, African Americans, refugee/immigrants and their health needs