A A Email Print Share

Dr. Cynthia S. McCarthy, Marie Milie Jones, Claudia P. Pinza To Be Honored by Duquesne University Group at Power Ball 2011

The Duquesne University Women’s Advisory Board announced today that it will honor three women at its annual gala, Power Ball 2011, on Saturday, Nov. 19.

The Women of Distinction Award recipients include Dr.Cynthia Simmons McCarthy, health care ethicist and an adjunct faculty member for La Roche College and the University of Pittsburgh’s Consortium Ethics Program; Marie Milie Jones, principal of Jones Passodelis PLLC and the first female chair of Duquesne University’s Board of Directors; and Claudia P. Pinza, adjunct professor of voice in Duquesne University’s Mary Pappert School of Music.

“The Women of Distinction award acknowledges women who have achieved major success in their chosen fields, demonstrated significant community accomplishments and who have a strong relationship with Duquesne. We are very pleased that the Women’s Advisory Board is able to provide this recognition at Power Ball 2011,” said Mickey Gatto, board president.

The Women’s Advisory Board at Duquesne hosts this annual event to fund scholarships for students in the Mary Pappert School of Music as well as other philanthropic needs at the University.

Power Ball 2011 will be held at the Power Center on the Duquesne campus.  Tickets are $150 per person, which includes dinner, dancing and open bar.  Tables of 10 and other sponsorship opportunities are available.

For more information concerning Power Ball 2011, including ticket and sponsorship details, contact Mary McIntyre at 412.396.6668 or mcintyre@duq.edu.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and tradition of academic excellence. Duquesne, a campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, has been nationally recognized for its academic programs, community service and commitment to sustainability. Follow Duquesne University on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.