News and Events

Undergraduate Research and Scholarship Symposium

11th Annual Undergraduate
Research and Scholarship Symposium

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Charles J. Dougherty Ballroom
Power Center

Abstract Deadline is March 1.

Register today at

Open to DU Undregraduates from all disciplines!


Abigail Ferris with Gabriela Gonzalez Spokesperson for LIGO Scientific Collaboration

Physics major takes selfie with famous LIGO scientist... in Spain!
Sophomore (Abigail) Louise Ferris is doing a study abroad in Spain this summer and was lucky to catch a conference in gravitational waves... in Spanish! Ondas gravitationales, as we say in Spain. Best of two worlds! Here she is in a selfie with Gabriela Gonzalez, spokesperson for the LIGO Scientific Collaboration and TED speaker. Looking good, Louise! Have fun in Spain!

DU Experimental Nuclear Physics Group

Duquesne joins particle physics collaboration as a member institution
Duquesne is now a member institution of the CLAS collaboration at Jefferson Lab, in recognition of its contributions to the experiments using the CLAS12 spectrometer in Hall B. Assistant Professor Fatiha Benmokhtar presented the membership application at last week's collaboration meeting, highlighting student contributions of the last five years: Andrew Witchger (BS 2014), Andrew Lendacky (BA 2017), Josh and Justin Goodwill (BA 2018), Morgen Benninghoff, Elise Aaron, Collin McCauley, Nick and Rich Trotta (BS 2016), Connor Pecar and Robert Behary. Congratulations to the members of our experimental nuclear physics group, past and present!

Madeline Galbraith

Physics major wins prestigious NSF graduate fellowship
Senior Madeline Galbraith is one of this years' awardees of the Graduate Research Fellowship Program of the National Science Foundation. Fellows receive a three year stipend while they work towards the completion of their PhD. The GRFP this year had an acceptance rate of less than 17%.

Madeline is the second student from the Duquesne undergraduate physics program to win this prestigious graduate award, after Courtney Au-Yeung (BS 2015) who received it in 2017 while attending the PhD program in materials research at Lehigh University.

After graduating this May, Madeline plans to attend the PhD program in the department of physics and astronomy at Rice University.

Read also: Duquesne University professor inspired Goldwater scholar to excel