A A Email Print Share

Woman of the Year Awards April 2

  • 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
  • The Common Plea Restaurant, 310 Ross Street

6:00 p.m. Awards Presentation

22nd Annual Woman of the Year Reception
Office of Student Organizations

co-sponsored by Allegheny County Bar Association, Women in the Law Division,
Women's Bar Association of Western Pennsylvania,
Duquesne Law Alumni Association and Duquesne Women's Law Association

RSVP Today

"Woman of the Year"
Nicola Henry-Taylor, Esq, L'96

Nicola Henry-Taylor, Esq. is the owner of the Law Office of Nicola Henry-Taylor, LLC, which provides litigation-based legal services to residents within Allegheny, Beaver, Westmoreland and Butler counties in Western Pennsylvania. Her practice focuses on criminal law; including federal cases and juvenile matters; family law, including Protection from Abuse ("PFA"), custody, support, termination of parental rights and adoptions; benefits rights law, including Social Security and welfare. She serves as Guardian ad Litem, CJA Federal Public Defender Panel Attorney, Parent Advocate Panel Attorney, Arbitrator and Parent Coordinator. Henry-Taylor is a 1996 graduate of Duquesne University School of Law. As a former prosecutor and a chief law clerk to two President Judges of the Court of Common Pleas, Henry-Taylor has had the unique opportunity to view the judicial system from the perspective of the commonwealth, client, and court.

"Recent Graduate of the Year"
Christina Horton Duty, Esq, L'10

Christina Horton Duty is an associate at Burns White Attorneys at Law who focuses her practice on Medicare compliance issues. She received her Juris Doctor, summa cum laude, in 2010 from Duquesne University School of Law, where she served as a senior staff member on the Duquesne Law Review, was the recipient of the Law Alumni Scholarship and was honored in 2008 for an Outstanding Oral Argument. Duty was the recipient of several CALI Excellence for the Future awards for achievements in legal process and procedure, trial advocacy and professional responsibility. She was awarded the Abraham and Anna Helman Memorial Prize and the John J. Sciullo Peer Excellency Award, served as Editor-in-Chief for Juris magazine, senator for the Student Bar Association and was a member of the Phi Alpha Delta Legal Fraternity, the Women's Law Association and the Unemployment Compensation Clinic. 

Past Recipients

Woman of the Year 
Recent Graduate of the Year
Mary C. McGinley 2012-2013 Lisa Barnett, 2012-2013                                       
Ella Kwisnek 2011-2012 Kathryn M. Cooper, 2011-2012                                                                                
Amelia Joiner 2010-2011 Sarah L. Andrews, 2010-2011
Toni Pellegrini 2009-2010 Michelle A. Mantini, 2009-2010
Vanessa S. Browne-Barbour 2008-2009 Amie M. Mihalko, 2008-2009
Mary-Jo Rebelo 2007-2008 Nicole Scialabba, 2007-2008
Honorable Stephanie Domitrovich 2006-2007
Honorable Kate Ford Elliott 2005-2006
Honorable Joy Flowers Conti 2004-2005
Maureen P. Kelley 2003-2004
Jacklyn A. Cherry 2002-2003
Marie Milie Jones 2001-2002
Vanessa S. Browne-Barbour 2000-2001
Honorable Joan Orie Melvin 1999-2000
Honorable Cynthia A. Baldwin 1998-1999                                                                  
Linda L. Kelly 1997-1998
Honorable Maureen E. Lally-Green 1996-1997
Honorable Donetta W. Ambrose 1995-1996
Caroline Mitchell 1994- 1995
Lynne N. Crenny 1993-1994
Gretchen Haggerty 1992-1993