Department of English & Theater Arts

Nora McBurney, Administrative Assistant
637 College Hall
600 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15282
Email: mcburne655@duq.edu
Phone: 412.396.6420
Fax: 412.396.1112

Department News and Events

Visiting Speaker:  Michael Bérubé

Friday, September 12

Red Masquers:  I Am Camera

October 2-4 and October 9-11

Colloquium

Friday, September 26

Midterms

October 6-10

Colloquium

Friday, October 24

Spring 2015 Pre-registration begins

October 27

Please see the News and Events page for exciting faculty news and information on these
upcoming events.

A A Email Print Share

Faculty & Staff

Fall 2014 Faculty Office Hours

Full-Time Faculty

 

adamsAnthony Adams, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Medieval Literature, Old & Middle English, Lit. Theory 
412.396.6438
631B College Hall 
adamsa8@duq.edu 

 

barnhiselGreg Barnhisel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Rhetoric & Composition, Modernism
Department Chair
412.396.6432
637C College Hall
barnhiselg@duq.edu

 

Faith Barrett, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Nineteenth C. American Studies, Twentieth C. American Poetry, Modern Lyric Poetry
412.396.5165
628 College Hall 
barrettf@duq.edu 

  

begnalMichael Begnal, M.F.A.

Full-time Instructor of Writing
412.396.4643
625 College Hall
begnalm@duq.edu

  

Ava CipriAva Cipri, M.F.A.

Full-time Instructor of Writing
412.396.4115
627 College Hall
cipria@duq.edu

 

Laura EngelLaura Engel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Restoration & Eighteenth C. Literatures, Dramatic Literature, Feminist Theory

412.396.1425
632A College Hall
engell784@duq.edu

 

John FriedJohn Fried, M.F.A., M.A.

Associate Professor
Fiction/Creative Writing, Film Studies

412.396.6428
624 College Hall
friedj@duq.edu

 

gibson Anna Gibson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
19th Century British Fiction

412.396.6431
630 College Hall
gibsona@duq.edu

Kathy Glass, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
African-American Literature, Women's Studies

Director of Undergraduate Studies
412.396.1424
629 College Hall
glassk@duq.edu

 

holohanMarianne Holohan, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor
412.396.6427
631 College Hall
holohan@duq.edu

Susan HowardSusan K. Howard, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
The Novel, British Literature of the Long Eighteenth C.
412.396.6441
622 College Hall
howard@duq.edu

 

Linda KinnahanLinda Arbaugh Kinnahan, Ph.D.

Professor
Twentieth C. American & British Poetry, Feminist Theory

412.396.6440
623 College Hall
kinnahan@duq.edu

 

TKinnahanThomas P. Kinnahan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
American LIterature

412.396.6439
630A College Hall
kinnahant@duq.edu

kishbaughJustin Kishbaugh, Ph.D.

Full-time Instructor of Writing
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
kishbaughj@duq.edu 

 

klucevsekKristin Klucevsek, Ph.D.

Full-time Instructor of Science Writing
412.396.6427
631 College Hall
klucevsekk@duq.edu 

 

KurlandStuart M. Kurland, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Literature of the English Renaissance, Shakespeare

412.396.6424
621 College Hall
kurland@duq.edu

LaneJohn E. Lane, Jr., M.A.

Associate Professor
Director of Theater Arts

412.396.6429
623A/B College Hall
lanej@duq.edu

 

Jessica McCortJessica McCort, Ph.D.

Full-time Instructor of Writing
412.396.4115
627 College Hall
mccortj@duq.edu

 

michaelMagali Cornier Michael, Ph.D.

Professor
Contemporary British & American Fiction, Feminist Theory

Director of Graduate Studies
412.396.5560
626 College Hall
michael@duq.edu

 

Emad Mirmotahari, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
African, African-American, & black diasporic literatures, World Literature

630B College Hall
mirmotaharie@duq.edu

 

James PurdyJames P. Purdy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Rhetoric & Composition, Writing & Technology
Director of the University Writing Center
412.396.1293
620 College Hall
purdyj@duq.edu

 

speeseErin Johns Speese, Ph.D.

Full-time Instructor of Writing
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
speesee@duq.edu

Danielle St HilaireDanielle A. St. Hilaire, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
British Renaissance Poetry, Milton

Interim-Director of First-Year Writing
412.396.6435
632B College Hall
sthilaired@duq.edu

 

Judy SuhJudy Suh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
British Modernism, Postcolonial Theory
 
412.396.1426
619 College Hall
suhj@duq.edu

 

ussiaMatthew Ussia, Ph.D.

Full-time Instructor of Writing
412.396.4643
625 College Hall
ussiam@duq.edu

 

wrightSarah Breckenridge Wright, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Medieval and Early Modern Literature, History of the English Language
412.396.1278
631A College Hall
wrights3@duq.edu

 

Frederick Newberry, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
American Literature
newberryf@duq.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty 

benjamin

Clint Benjamin
309 College Hall
benjaminc@duq.edu

 

 

  

clarkRichard Clark, Ph.D.
309 College Hall
clarkr@duq.edu 

 

  

   

houghton

Paul Houghton, Ph.D.
309 College Hall
houghtonp@duq.edu

 

 

jones

Bettina Jones, Ph.D.
309 College Hall
jonesb@duq.edu 

 

 

 
 

kloo

Julie Kloo, Ph.D.
310 College Hall
klooj@duq.edu
412.396.2642

love

Nancy Love
623A College Hall
loven@duq.edu

 

 

 

manning

Jon Manning
310 College Hall
manningj951@duq.edu
412.396.2642

 

 

mcilwain

Jolene McIlwain
333 College Hall
mcilwainj@duq.edu
412.396.2647

mertz

Rebecca Mertz
310 College Hall
mertzr@duq.edu 
412.396.2642

 

poteet

Mark Poteet, Ph.D.
310 College Hall
poteetw@duq.edu
412.396.2642

 

 

  

Emily Rodgers
333 College Hall
rodgerse@duq.edu
412.396.2647





Todd Rozell
333 College Hall
rozell996@duq.edu
412.396.2647

Kathryn Smorul, Ph.D.
309 College Hall
smorulk@duq.edu

Sowards

Robin Sowards, Ph.D.
333 College Hall
sowardsr@duq.edu
412.396.2647

 

 

Rose-Anne Vigilante
623A College Hall
vigilanter@duq.edu

vincent

Timothy Vincent, Ph.D.
331 College Hall
vincent841@duq.edu
412.396.2646

lwilliams

Lorena Williams
331 College Hall
willia59@duq.edu
412.396.2646

 

 

 

wolf

Laurin Wolf
310 College Hall
wolfl1@duq.edu
412.396.2642

 

 

 

Teaching Assistants

All Teaching Assistants are located in 639A College Hall.

 

Marla Anzalone
anzalon1@duq.edu

baranowski

Kelly Baranowski
baranowskik@duq.edu

craven

Robert Craven
cravenr@duq.edu 

 

John Hadlock
hadlockj@duq.edu

Sarah Hancock
hancocks@duq.edu

heilman

Matthew Heilman
heilmanm@duq.edu

 

 

 

Allison Keene
keenea1@duq.edu
 

  

Rebekah Lynn
lynnr1@duq.edu

 

Christopher Maverick
maverickc@duq.edu 

 

Marissa Mosley
mosleym@duq.edu

powell

Will Powell
powellw1@duq.edu

 

Cheryl Read
readc@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

reznik

Alexandra Reznik
reznika@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

richter

Shannon Richter
richters@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

Josie Rush
rushj@duq.edu

Whitney Sandin
sandinw@duq.edu

stoyanoff

Jeff Stoyanoff
stoyanoffj@duq.edu

 

 

 

Johanna Sullivan
sulliv16@duq.edu

tavela

Sara Tavela
tavelas@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

Lisa Weddell
weddell1@duq.edu

 

bwilliams

Bryon Williams
willia47@duq.edu

David Young
youngd4@duq.edu

 






Staff

 

Nora McBurney
Administrative Assistant
412.396.6420
412.396.1112 (fax)
637 College Hall
mcburne655@duq.edu

 

Anna Harp
Graduate Assistant
harpa@duq.edu