A A Email Print Share

Graduate Students in Philosophy

The Graduate Students in Philosophy (GSiP) collaborates with the department to support faculty-organized conferences and activities. GSiP organizes an annual conference, as well as hosting a Colloquium Series, in which current graduate students are encouraged to present their work. Additionally, the GSiP assists the faculty and department administration in coordinating department-wide social events.

Current Information and Awards

GSiP Officers, 2014-2015
  • Martin Krahn - President
    Bethany Somma - Vice President
  • Matthew Yaw and Peter Libbey - Faculty Representatives 
    Alex Gorman and Tristana Martin Rubio - Colloquium Coordinators
  • Joseph Bertino - Web Coordinator

 

Duquesne Women in Philosophy (D-WiP)

D-WiP emphasizes research support, community service, and provides a forum for continued philosophical discussion. In service of these ends, D-WiP hosts Brown Bag Discussions, engages in community service projects, and organizes a yearly Symposium.

 

Marginal Theory Society

The Marginal Theory Society provides a forum for the investigation of fields such as queer theory, liberation theology, philosophy of technology, race theory, environmental ethics, peace studies, and other areas outside the reach of core curricula. The Society held an interdisciplinary workshop on November 12, 2011 on the topic of Technology and Identity.

Nathan Eckstrand - Coordinator

 

 

Current Graduate Students 2013-2014

(Contact Joseph Bertino for updates)

Name

E-mail

Areas of Interest

Zoe Anthony anthonyz@duq.edu
Thomas Ball ballt1@duq.edu Ancient Philosophy and the Intersection of Theory and Practice
Taylor Baker bakert@duq.edu Aesthetics, Existentialism: Literature, Nietzsche, Morality, Ethics
Karim Barakat barakatk@duq.edu History of Political Philosophy, Critiques of liberalism, Foucault, Contemporary Arabic Philosophy
Joseph Bertino bertinoj@duq.edu Ancient Greek Philosophy, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Nature, Moral Theory.
Joel Boyer boyerj@duq.edu Social/Political Philosophy, Phenomenology: on Knowledge, Reason, Truth, Justice, Responsibility, Right(s).
Roland Carspecken Carspeckern@duq.edu 19th Century and Contemporary French and German Philosophy: On Language, Communication, intersubjectivity and Social Theory
Alexander Crist Crista@duq.edu
Tylor Cunningham Cunnin21@duq.edu
Minglai Dong dongm@duq.edu Phenomenology, Semiotics, and Confucius Ethics
Paul di Georgio digeorgiop@duq.edu 19th-20th C. French, German, & Italian Philosophy: epistemology, phenomenology and psychoanalysis
Ned Goertzen goertzenn@duq.edu
Brian Goncus goncusb@duq.edu
Alexander Gorman gormana2@duq.edu Phenomenology, Psychoanalysis, and Deconstruction
Stephen Hallenbeck hallenbecks@duq.edu I'm interested in French Continental Philosophy and the Frankfurt School including Deleuze, Foucault, Derrida, Adorno and Benjamin. I hope to study the ways in which the schools of thought relate to aesthetics, politics and critical theory.
Richard King kingr2@duq.edu
Jessica Konig konigj@duq.edu Critical race theory, feminist philosophy, women's and gender studies, existentialism.
Fr. Francois Kodena kodenaf@duq.edu
Jeff Lambert Lambert2@duq.edu
Peter Libbey libbeyp@duq.edu German Idealism, contemporary French philosophy, and intercultural philosophy
Tristana Martin-Rubio martinrubiot@duq.edu Phenomenology
Benjamin Maynard Maynard1@duq.edu Satrean Existentialism, Psychoanalysis, Selfhood/Autonomy
Michael Mburu mburum@duq.edu
Timothy McGarvey mcgarveyt@duq.edu Existentialism, Kierkegaard, and Nietzsche
Johnathan Nocera Noceraj@duq.edu Ancient-Medieval Philosophy, Natural Theology, Psychoanalysis, Phenomenology, Self-Knowledge, Asian Philosophy, Heidegger.
Jiho Oh ohj1@duq.edu German Idealism, Contemporary French Philosophy, Post--modern Ontology, Modern and Contemporary Ethics.
Sila Ozkara ozkaras@duq.edu German Idealism, Early Modern Philosophy, Theories of Cognition, Language.
Alessio Rotundo rotundoa@duq.edu Phenomenology and contemporary hermeneutics (Husserl, Heidegger, Merleau-Ponty, Nietzsche, Gadamer, Vattimo)
Norman Schultz schultzn@duq.edu
Richard Sharpe sharper@duq.edu Existentialism, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Religion, 20th Century Catholic Philosophy
Anna Shevchenko shevchenkoa@duq.edu Phenomenology/Existentialism, Philosophy of Feelings/Emotion, 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Merleau-Ponty.
Frank Smecker Smeckerf@duq.edu
Jessica Turturro Turturroj@duq.edu
Bradley Van Uden vanudenb@duq.edu Plato, Aristotle
Rebecca Warshofsky warshofskyr@duq.edu Philosophy and Literature, Phenomenology, Rhetoric, Being, Selfhood, Culture and Camus.
Matthew Yaw yawm@duq.edu Phenomenology, Philosophy of Religion, Continental Philosophy

ABD Students

Stephanie Adair

adairs@duq.edu German Idealism, Epistemology, Feminist Theory
C. Dominic Alvarado alvaradoc@duq.edu
Jim Bahoh bahohj@duq.edu Deleuze, Heidegger, Contemporary Ontology, History of Philosophy.

Tiah Balcer

balcert@duq.edu

Joy Bradley

simmonsj1799@duq.edu
Patrick Craig craigp@duq.edu Early Modern (Hobbes, Spinoza), Contemporary Continental, History of Materialism
William Davenport davenportw@duq.edu Kant's Moral Theory, Virtue Ethics and Bioethics
Nathan Eckstrand eckstrandn@duq.edu Social and Political Philosophy,
Contemporary Continental Philosophy
Derek Elliott elliottd@duq.edu
Jacob Greenstine greenstinea@duq.edu Ancient philosophy (esp. Aristotle's theoretical philosophy), German Idealism (esp. Hegel), early modern Sciences, and contemporary materialisms and realisms.
Justin Habash habashj@duq.edu
Benjamin Hampshire hampshireb@duq.edu Catholic Philosophy, Critical Theory,
Ethics, and History of Philosophy
John Harvey harveyj@duq.edu Metaphysics, Mind-Body Problem, Philosophy of Mind, Logic
Boram Jeong jeongb@duq.edu
Andrew Jussaume jussaumea@duq.edu
Martin Krahn krahnm@duq.edu German Idealism, Philosophy of Nature, Marx and Marxism, History and Philosophy of Science
Fergus Laughland laughlandf@duq.edu
Ryan Lingo lingor@duq.edu
Matthew Lovett lovettm@duq.edu Deleuze, Hegel, Lacan & Psychoanalysis, German Idealism, Philosophy of Art, Women's & Gender Studies.
Stan Marlan marlans@duq.edu
Rev. Christopher Mbogu mbogu887@duq.edu
Christopher Murry murryc@duq.edu
Brandon Nelson nelson240@duq.edu
Ryan Pfahl pfahlr@duq.edu
Ariana Ragusa ragusaa@duq.edu
Chris Rawls rawlsc@duq.edu
Early Modern (Spinoza), Critical Race Theory,
Philosophy of Psychology & Education,
Bergson, de Beauvoir, Deleuze
Adam P. Roos roosa@duq.edu
Nalan Sarac saracn@duq.edu
George Shea sheag@duq.edu
Clancy Smith smithc4@duq.edu Pragmatism, Critical Theory
Bethany Somma sommab@duq.edu Platonism, Islamic Philosophy, Nietzsche, philosophy and adoption
Evan Strevell strevelle@duq.edu
James Taylor taylorj1801@duq.edu Critical Philosophies of Race and Gender, Philosophy of Technology, Martin Heidegger, and Divine Command Theory.
Amy Timko coopera@duq.edu
Dana Trusso johnsond562@duq.edu Philosophy of Love, Platonism, Mysticism, Neoplatonisnm.
Luke Trusso trussol@duq.edu Enviromental Philosophy, Nietzsche, Existentialism, Aesthetics
Matt Valentine valentine944@duq.edu Kant, French Continental Philosophy, Subjectvity and the Science of the Subject.
Becky  Vartabedian vartabedianr@duq.edu Contemporary Continental Philosophy
Philosophy and Mathematics
History of Philosophy
Kelsey Ward wardk1@duq.edu Ancient Greek and Roman philosophy
Katherine Weber weber496@duq.edu
Paul Zipfel zipfelp@duq.edu Phenomenology, Intersubjectivity, Forgiveness, and Evil