Celebration of Teaching Excellence

Please mark your calendars and plan to join our campus community in a Celebration of Teaching on Thursday, April 22, 2021 at 3:00 PM EST. An invitation with Zoom details and an announcement of award winners is forthcoming.

Save the date for the Celebration of Teaching Excellence on Thursday, April 22 at 3 PM via Zoom

2020 Creative Teaching Award

"Leveraging Multidisciplinary, Community-Engaged Research Mentoring to Foster Cultural Humility, Research Skills, and Informed Career Decisions among Duquesne Students"

  • Dr. Cathleen J. Appelt, Department of Sociology
  • Dr. Jessica A. Devido, School of Nursing
  • Dr. Andrew T. Simpson, Department of History

This project is a voluntary, multidisciplinary teaching intervention designed to: 1) engage both undergraduate and graduate students in multidisciplinary, community-engaged research; 2) provide voluntary mentoring to help students develop relevant professional skills and interest in further professional education; 3) build on existing faculty research projects and established community partnerships that exposes Duquesne students to real-world issues facing our country and our region; and 4) provide pilot data for a potential future teaching intervention that could more formally be part of the humanities and health sciences curriculum further supporting the university's strategic plan and mission. It was conducted from 2016-2019 by three faculty members from the McAnulty College and School of Nursing. Instructional methods included direct supervision, research mentorship, and exposure to community engagement for two cohorts of student mentees. Direct and indirect evidence of student learning is based on qualitative research findings, students' writing and research presentations, and student feedback. 

2020 Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Autumn Marie Chilcote (Clinical Psychology)
  • Jeff Lambert (Philosophy)
  • Ngoc Pham (Pharmacy)
  • Kayce Tomcho (Chemistry)