Advisory Board

Guiding The Cyril H. Wecht Institute in the development of its curricula and the selection of topics for its conferences and publications is an accomplished group of experts from the fields of forensic science, law, education, law enforcement, and public policy.

As members of The Cyril H. Wecht Institute’s Advisory Board, many of these experts also periodically lecture in the Institute’s academic programs and present papers at its annual conferences.

Advisory Board Members:

Cyril H. Wecht, M.D., J.D. (Chairman)
Forensic Pathology Consultant, Author and Lecturer

George J. Annas, J.D., M.P.H.
William Fairfield Warren Dist. Prof. and Chair, Health Law, Bioethics and Human Rights, Boston University School of Public Health

Steven C. Batterman, Ph.D.
Forensic Engineering Consultant, Batterman Engineering, LLC

Alfred Blumstein, Ph.D.
J. Erik Jonsson University Professor of Urban Systems and Operations Research, Carnegie Mellon University

Ann Wolbert Burgess, D.N.Sc., R.N.
Professor, Connell School of Nursing, Boston College

The Honorable Jay Costa
State Senator, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

The Honorable David S. Cercone
United States District Judge, Western District of Pennsylvania

Frederick W. Fochtman, Ph.D.
Professor of Pharmacology/Toxicology, Duquesne University

Lisa B. Freeland, J.D.
Federal Public Defender for the Western District of Pennsylvania

Christine Funk, Esq.
General Counsel, Washington, D.C. Department of Forensic Sciences

Neal H. Haskell, Ph.D.
Professor of Entomology, St. Joseph's College

Henry C. Lee, Ph.D.
Chief Emeritus for Scientific Services, State of Connecticut; founder, Henry C. Lee Institute of Forensic Science, University of New Haven

Harry Litman, Esq.
Attorney; Former U.S. Attorney, Western District of Pennsylvania

Michael J. Machen, Esq.
Private Attorney; Former Chief Public Defender, Allegheny County

Detective Kenneth L. Mains
Founder and President, American Investigative Society of Cold Cases

Jane Campbell Moriarty, J.D.
Associate Dean for Faculty Scholarship and Carol Los Mansmann Chair in Faculty Scholarship, Duquesne University School of Law

Matthias I. Okoye, M.D., J.D.
Director, Nebraska Forensic Medical Services

Wesley Oliver, J.S.D., LL.M.
Associate Professor and Criminal Justice Program Director, Duquesne University School of Law

Allan Pass, Ph.D.
Director, National Behavioral Science Consultants

David Pauly, M.F.S.
Professor of Justice Administration, Methodist University

Mark W. Perlin, M.D., Ph.D.
CEO and Chief Scientific Officer, Cybergenetics

Mark M. Pollitt, Ph.D.
President, Digital Evidence Professional Services, Inc.

Katherine M. Ramsland, Ph.D.
Assistant Provost, DeSales University, and Author

Michael F. Rieders, Ph.D.
President and Chief Science Officer, NMS Labs

James C. Roddey
Principal, ParenteBeard; Former Allegheny County Chief Executive

Mark E. Safarik, M.S.
President, Forensic Behavioral Services International

The Honorable Kevin G. Sasinoski
Judge, Criminal Division, Allegheny County Court of Common Pleas

L. Kathleen Sekula, Ph.D., APRN, FAAN
Professor of Nursing and Founder, Graduate Forensic Nursing Programs, Duquesne University School of Nursing

James E. Starrs, LL.M.
David B. Weaver Research Professor of Law, The George Washington University Law School

Robert K. Tanenbaum, Esq.
Attorney and Author; Former Homicide Bureau Chief, New York

Honorable David N. Wecht
Justice, Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

Victor W. Weedn, M.D., J.D.
Chair, Department of Forensic Science, The George Washington University

Michael Welner, M.D.
Chairman, The Forensic Panel; Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry, New York University