Organizational Structure

Middle States Self-Study Steering Committee

In January 2016 Provost Austin announced that he had appointed the Steering Committee for the Middle States Self-Study. The Steering Committee began work on the Self-Study Design on January 20, 2016.

  • Dr. Timothy Austin and Dr. Linda Kinnahan, co-chairs
  • Dr. Darlene Weaver, Standard I Working Group Chair
  • Dr. Kimberly Hoeritz, Standard II Working Group Chair
  • Dr. Greg Barnhisel, Standard III Working Group Chair
  • Cheryl Knoch and J.D. Douglas, Standard IV Working Group co-chairs
  • Dr. Alexandra Gregory, Standard V Working Group Chair
  • Dr. Jeffrey Miller, Standard VI Working Group Chair
  • Madelyn Reilly, J.D., Standard VII Working Group Chair
  • Paul-James Cukanna and Kelley Maloney, Standard VIII Working Group co-chairs
  • Grace Sommers, Assistant to the Associate Provost
  • Taylor Dreste, Graduate Assistant

Working Group Members

Standard I: Mission and Goals

  • Dr. Darlene Weaver, Director, Center for Catholic Intellectual Tradition; Director, University CORE Curriculum; and Professor of Theology (chair)
  • Ms. Michelle Blohm, Graduate Student
  • Dr. Gerald Boodoo, Director, Center for African Studies and Associate Professor of Theology
  • Ms. Luci-Jo DiMaggio, Director, Mission Animation
  • Dr. Lina Dostilio, Director, Center for Community-Engaged Teaching and Research
  • Dr. Ian Edwards, Director, University Counseling Center
  • Dr. Mary Ellen Glasgow, Dean, School of Nursing and Professor of Nursing
  • Dr. Jason Margolis, Chair, Department of Instruction and Leadership in Education and Associate Professor of Education
  • Fr. James Okoye, C.S.Sp, Director, Center for Spiritan Studies
  • Dr. Philip Reeder, Dean, Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences and Professor of Biological Sciences
  • Ms. Laurie Serafino, J.D., Director, Clinical Legal Education and Associate Clinical Professor of Law

Standard II: Ethics and Integrity

  • Dr. Kimberly Hoeritz, University Registrar (chair)
  • Mr. Anthony Cappa, Associate Director, Undergraduate Admission
  • Ms. Angela Chirumbolo, Assistant Director, Office of Institutional Research
  • Ms. Tammy Ewin, Assistant Vice President, Office of Marketing and Communications
  • Ms. Jennifer S. Fink, J.D., Associate Legal Counsel and Director, Risk Management
  • Mr. Zachary Galloway, Undergraduate Student
  • Mr. John Greeno, Assistant Vice President/Chief Human Resource Officer
  • Mr. Russell Grunebach, Assistant Vice President for Finance and Treasury Services
  • Mr. Jeffrie Mallory, Director, Multicultural Affairs
  • Mr. David Nolfi, Health Sciences Librarian; Chair, University Grievance Committee for Faculty
  • Ms. Sarah Rethage, J.D., Assistant Dean, School of Law and Executive Director, Enrollment Management
  • Ms. Josie Rush, Graduate Student
  • Ms. Anne Mullarkey Sawa, Director, Student Conduct
  • Dr. Fran Serenka, Associate Professor, School of Education
  • Ms. Alison Wojcik, Assistant Director, Financial Aid

Standard III: Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience

  • Dr. Greg Barnhisel, Chair, English Department and Professor of English (chair)
  • Dr. Darlene Weaver, Director, University Core Curriculum and Professor of Theology
  • Dr. Roberta Aronson, Executive Director, Office for International Programs
  • Ms. Kelly Baranowski, Graduate Student
  • Dr. Sara Baron, University Librarian
  • Dr. Mikael Kimelman, Associate Professor and Chair, Speech Pathology
  • Dr. Bruce Livengood, Assistant Dean, School of Pharmacy and Associate Professor of Pharmacy
  • Dr. Carla Meyer, Assistant Professor of Education
  • Dr. Margaret Patterson, Professor of Journalism & Multimedia Arts
  • Ms. Monika Schwartz, Associate University Registrar

Standard IV: Support of the Student Learning Experience

  • Mr. James R. Douglas, Director, Retention and Advisement (co-chair)
  • Ms. Cheryl L. Knoch, Assistant Vice President for Student Involvement (co-chair)
  • Ms. Sherene Brantley, Assistant Director, Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Mr. Todd Eicker, Director, Graduate Admissions
  • Dr. Judith Griggs, Director, Michael P. Weber Learning Skills Center
  • Mr. William Klewien, Director, McAnulty College of Liberal Arts Communication and Undergraduate Recruitment
  • Dr. John Lane, Director, Theatre Arts and Associate Professor of English
  • Mr. Gerard Lunanuova, Graduate Assistant, Center for Student Involvement
  • Mr. Tyler McCardell, Undergraduate Student
  • Ms. Roberta Penz, Manager, Student Accounts
  • Dr. Alia Pustorino-Clevenger, Associate Director for Co-curricular Community Engagement and Chair, Student Life Assessment Team (SLAT)
  • Mr. Adam Wasilko, Director, Freshman Development and Special Services
  • Ms. Deborah Zugates, Director, Undergraduate Admission

Standard V: Educational Effectiveness Assessment

  • Dr. Alexandra Gregory, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs (chair)
  • Ms. Ashley Canning, Instructional Designer
  • Dr. David Delmonico, Professor of Education
  • Ms. Taylor Dreste, Graduate Student
  • Ms. Nicole Feldhues, Director, Career Services
  • Mr. Dan McCarthy, Director, Recreational Programs
  • Mr. Mark Prestopnik, Assistant Director, Online Teaching & Learning
  • Dr. James Purdy, Director, University Writing Center and Associate Professor of English/Writing Studies
  • Mr. Tyler Siminski, Undergraduate Student
  • Ms. Grace Sommers, Assistant to the Associate Provost
  • Dr. Laurel Willingham-McLain, Director, Faculty Development and Teaching Excellence

Standard VI: Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement

  • Dr. Jeffrey A. Miller, Associate Provost for Administration and Professor of Education (chair)
  • Ms. Celeste M. Corsi, Executive Director, Enrollment Management Group
  • Mr. David DeNardo, Assistant Athletic Director for Business, Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Ms. Kathleen Jaczesko, Associate Director, Human Resource Management
  • Ms. Raili Kieley, Executive Director, Planning and Budget
  • Ms. Natalie Laux, Undergraduate Student
  • Mr. Donald W. Maue, Director, Computing Support
  • Mr. Matthew J. North, Director, Institutional Research
  • Ms. Renee Stockey, Business Manager, Office of the Provost
  • Mr. William Zilcosky, Director, Building Services - Facilities Management

Standard VII: Governance, Leadership, and Administration

  • Ms. Madelyn A. Reilly, J.D., Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel (chair)
  • Dr. Seth Beckman, Dean, Mary Pappert School of Music
  • Dr. Annie Burrows, President, Faculty Senate
  • Mr. Samuel A. Costanzo, Member, Board of Directors
  • Mr. James Daher, President, Student Government Association
  • Mr. Ryan Dawson, Senior Director, Human Resources
  • Dr. Tammy Hughes, Chair, Department of Counseling, Psychology, and Special Education and Professor of Education
  • Fr. John Sawicki, C.S.Sp., Secretary of the Members of the Duquesne University Corporation and Assistant Professor of Political Science

Standard VIII: Requirements of Affiliation and Verification of Compliance

  • Mr. Paul-James Cukanna, Associate Provost for Enrollment Management (co-chair)
  • Ms. Kelley Maloney, Director, Enrollment Marketing and Communication, Enrollment Management Group (co-chair)
  • Ms. Marlo Ayres, Budget Manager, Enrollment Management Group
  • Dr. Michael Bridges, Executive Director, Online Learning & Strategy
  • Mr. Brian Bolsinger, Director, Educational Technology
  • Mr. James R. Douglas, Director, Retention and Advisement
  • Mr. Richard Esposito, Director, Financial Aid
  • Ms. Denise Faix, Administrative Associate, Enrollment Management Group
  • Mr. James Frick, Associate Director, Graduate Admission
  • Mr. Eric Litzinger, Business Analyst, Enrollment Management Group
  • Ms. Cheryl Perry, Associate Director of Systems, Enrollment Management Group