2023 Winner

Pete Mrvos

Pete Mrvos is a native of Western-Pennsylvania and earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Pittsburgh before joining the United States Army. He received his commission as a 2nd Lieutenant from the U.S. Army Officer Candidate School.

After completing his training, Pete was assigned to the 3rd Infantry Division and deployed in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom where he led a combat platoon. He was awarded the Bronze Star Medal and the Combat Action Badge.

After returning from the Middle East, Pete returned to the Officer Candidate School as an instructor where he trained and mentored more than 200 future Army officers.

Pete was selected for the Army’s Public Affairs Corps and trained at Ft. Meade, Md. in journalism, media relations, and communications strategy. After completing the Department of Defense Public Affairs Qualification Course, Pete took command of a detachment before deploying in support of the fight against ISIS, Operation Inherent Resolve. Pete and his team traveled across the region to tell the Army’s story and led media relations efforts during a National Geographic documentary with Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Following his military service, Pete took on several sales and marketing roles before joining Bayer in Radiology where works closely with his colleagues to achieve their organization’s purpose: “Everyone deserves clear answers about their health.”

A lifelong music lover, Pete has played the trumpet for more than 25 years; appearing on stage with jazz legend Maynard Ferguson and playing for 3 years as one of Pitt’s Herald Trumpets.

Pete is currently studying at Duquesne University’s Business School in pursuit of a Master of Business Administration and expects to complete the program in August, 2023.

Pete lives in Mars, Pa. with his wonderful wife, Christie, their daughter, two beagles and a yellow lab.

2022 Winner
Janetta Bekman

2021 Winner
Zachary T. Susko

2020 Winner
Meghan Ryan

2019 Winner
Eliana R. Latterman
 2018 Winner
Corey Seymour
 2017 Winner
Robert Thomas Luke, Jr.
 2016 Winner
Stephen Erskine
 2015 Winner
Tyler C. Montabon
 2014 Winner
Amber (Sobieralski) Benedict
 2012 Winner
Danell R. Cooper
 2011 Winner
Amanda M. (Morel) Sopata