Department News

Department News/Awards
  • Dr. Kimberly Szucs, Ph.D., OTR/L was granted tenure and promotion from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor effective July 1, 2019.  
  • Dr. Richard Simpson, PhD, ATP was granted tenure effective July 1, 2019.
  • Dr. Elizabeth DeIuliis, OTD, OTR/L was granted promotion from Clinical Assistant Professor to Clinical Associate Professor effective July 1, 2019.
  • Dr. Ann Stuart, Clinical Assistant Professor, Rangos School of Health Sciences, Occupational Therapy, was presented a 2018 Community Heroes Award by Community Living and Support Services (CLASS). Dr. Stuart is being recognized for her committed, professional and long-standing work at integrating Community-Engaged Learning with CLASS. You can read more about the award here:
  • Under the servant-leadership of Dr. Ann Stuart, the Student Occupational Therapy Association (SOTA) was awarded the Organization of the Year Award by Duquesne University's Student Life Division on April 24, 2019.
  • Dr. Amy Mattila  received the RSHS Dean's Award for Faculty Excellence in Service  in May of 2020..
  • Dr. Elena Donoso Brown received the RSHS Dean's Award for Faculty Excellence in Teaching in May of 2020.
  • Rachel Tokarski received the RSHS Departmental Outstanding Student and Dean's Award for Excellence in 2020.

John G. Rangos Prizes for Faculty and Students

Duquesne University recently awarded the John G. Rangos Prizes for Faculty and Students. Made possible by a gift from John G. Rangos, Sr., the prizes recognize undergraduates, graduate students and faculty members who develop ideas that help address problems facing current and future generations in a fashion that forges creative pathways to educate and engage them.

Winners included the following students and faculty from Occupational Therapy:

Student Winning Proposals
  • Collaborative Innovation Workshop, by Nicole Lucente (physical therapy) and Delaney Batik (occupational therapy)
  • Prosthetics: 3D Modeling with Patient Implementation, by Jacob Bernardinelli (biomedical engineering), Willa Potosnak (biomedical engineering) and Amanda Seidl (occupational therapy)
Faculty Winning Proposals
  • Community Engaged Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Institute: Dr. Amy Mattila (occupational therapy) Dr. Jessica Mann and Dr. Sarah Breckenridge Wright
  • Interprofessional Roundtables: Innovating Solutions to Contemporary Mental Health Challenges and Social Injustice, by Cathleen Appelt (sociology), Meghan Blaskowitz (occupational therapy), Ann Stuart (occupational therapy), Bridget Calhoun (physician assistant), Jordan Covvey (pharmacy), Jessica Devido (nursing), Tammy Hughes (education), Rachel Kallem Whitman (psychology), Andrew Simpson (history) and Tiffany Sizemore (law).
  • A Mobile Clinic and Makerspace, by Richard Simpson (occupational therapy), Regina Harbourne (physical therapy) and Patrick Cooper (physics)
  • Interprofessional Collaboration 101: Preparing Students to Reimagine Health Care, by Elena Donoso Brown (occupational therapy) and Sarah Wallace (speech-language pathology), with occupational therapy students Natalie Falcione, Jenna Gallipoli, Fiona Kessler and Rachel Tokarski

Check out the full article in the Times here.

Student Awards
Fieldwork Educator Awards
Alumni News