Early Decision and 3/3 Programs

Apply Now

The Law School offers two distinct programs for candidates who wish to apply to Duquesne Law early. The first is a traditional binding early decision program and the second is a 3/3 program for college juniors from partner institutions.

Binding Early Decision Program

Applicants who know early on in the application cycle that Duquesne University School of Law is their first choice may consider applying Early Decision. Duquesne's Early Decision Program is binding and requires that applicants withdraw all applications from other schools if admitted to Duquesne. Applicants may not apply Early Decision at more than one law school and may not initiate new applications after admission. If admitted through the Early Decision Program, you must commit to matriculating at Duquesne and submit a nonrefundable seat deposit by the deadline on your letter of admission. This program is best suited for applicants who have put considerable thought and research into their law school options early-on in the application cycle.

To be considered for Early Decision, your application must be complete, including your Credential Assembly Service Law School Report, by December 31st. The November LSAT is the last acceptable score for consideration as an Early Decision candidate. You will be notified of the Admissions Committee's decision to either admit, deny, or waitlist by January 31st. Applicants who are waitlisted are released from the binding obligation of the program and will be evaluated with the rest of the applicant pool in the spring.

Applicants who are admitted through the Early Decision Program will receive the same scholarship consideration as applicants in the regular decision pool. Applicants for whom scholarship aid is a primary factor should not apply Early Decision, as you will not have the opportunity to compare scholarship awards from multiple schools.

To apply as an Early Decision candidate, you must complete and attach the Binding Early Decision Agreement to your application.

3/3 Early Admissions Programs

The only circumstance in which candidates may apply for admission without a baccalaureate degree is through a pre-arranged 3/3 Early Admissions Agreement between the applicant's institution and the Law School. The McAnulty College of Liberal Arts, A.J. Palumbo School of Business Administration, the Mary Pappert School of Music, and the Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences cooperate with the School of Law in programs that enable students to receive a bachelor’s degree after three years of undergraduate work and successful completion of the first year of law school. The Law School has partnered with several other Universities as well.

Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility for the early admission programs generally require a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5 over three years; completion of all undergraduate curricular requirements; a minimum LSAT score in at least the 60th percentile (students interested in applying should take the LSAT in the fall or winter of their junior year); a letter of recommendation from a pre-law advisor, undergraduate advisor, and/or a professor to the Law School’s Office of Admissions; and a personal interview with the Admissions Committee. Check with your pre-law advisor for requirements. 

3/3 Early Admission Program partners:

  • Assumption University
  • Bennett College
  • Bethany College
  • Carlow University
  • Carnegie Mellon University-College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Chatham University
  • Duquesne University
  • Elizabethtown College
  • Franciscan University of Steubenville
  • Gannon University
  • Juniata College
  • King's College
  • Lake Erie College
  • Mercyhurst College
  • Robert Morris University
  • Seton Hill University
  • St. Bonaventure University
  • St. Francis University
  • St. Vincent College
  • Thiel College
  • University of Findlay
  • University of Scranton
  • Washington and Jefferson College
  • Waynesburg University
  • Westminster College
  • Wheeling Jesuit University
  • Xavier University of Louisiana
  • Institutions comprising the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education:
    • Bloomsburg University
    • California University
    • Cheyney University
    • Clarion University
    • East Stroudsburg University
    • Edinboro University
    • Indiana University
    • Kutztown University
    • Lock Haven University
    • Mansfield University
    • Millersville University
    • Shippensburg University
    • Slippery Rock University
    • West Chester University