title image for web page

Dean's Diversity Action Council

The Dean's Diversity Action Council was formed in 2019 to ensure that Duquesne University School of Law is a welcoming and supportive environment for all. Our goal is to create a culture of inclusion and belonging at the School of Law where our students of color and other historically underrepresented students flourish. We aim to create long-term, sustained progress toward justice, equity, and human dignity. We act in accordance with our Spiritan Mission as we seek to energize our minds, hearts and spirits to overcome the affliction of discrimination and racial inequality.

Promise Statement

Council Members

photo of April Barton

April M. Barton

Dean and Professor of Law

lawdean@duq.edu

photo of Jalila Jefferson Bullock

Jalila Jefferson-Bullock

Associate Professor of Law

jeffersonbulloj@duq.edu

photo of Tsegaye Beru

Tsegaye Beru

Associate Director for Faculty Research 

and Outreach Services, DCLI and

 ACLL, and Adjunct Professor

beru@duq.edu

photo of Rona Kaufman

Rona Kaufman

Associate Professor of Law

kitchenr@duq.edu

 

photo of Pablo Echeverri

Pablo Echeverri

Assistant Professor of Law

echeverrip@duq.edu

photo of Ella Kwisnek

Ella Kwisnek

Associate Dean of Students and

Assistant Professor of Legal Research

and Writing

kwisnek@duq.edu

photo of Aman Gebru

Aman Gebru

Assistant Professor of Law

gebrua@duq.edu

photo of Emile Loza de Siles

Emile Loza de Siles

Assistant Professor of Law

lozae@duq.edu

 

photo of Valerie Harper

Valerie J. Harper

School of Law Registrar

harper@duq.edu

image of John Rago

John Rago

Associate Professor of Law

ragoj@duq.edu

photo of Nicola Henry Taylor

Nicola Henry-Taylor

Director of Diversity

henrytaylorn@duq.edu

image of Carrie Samarin

Carrie Samarin

Executive Assistant to the Dean

samarinc@duq.edu

 

image of Kaitlin Yacob Kaitlin Yacob

Associate Director of Admissions

yacobk@duq.edu

 




                             
                         

Student Affinity Group Leaders

Antonio Bonnetty                     bonnettya@duq.edu      2D      Senator, Student Bar Association
Ell Connally                             connallye@duq.edu       3D      Vice President, Student Bar Association
Kallie Crawford                        crawfordk@duq.edu      3D      American Bar Association Representative, Student Bar Association
Shreya Desai                           desais@duq.edu           3D      President, First Generation Society & Public Interest Law Association
Rosemari Fassette                  fassetter@duq.edu        3D      President, Education Initiative for Individual Diversity
Kayla Ford                               fordk1@duq.edu            2E      Senator, Student Bar Association
Jake Harrison                          harrisonj2@duq.edu      3D      Vice President, Jewish Law Students Association                      Alexandria Iwanenko               iwanenkoa@duq.edu    3D      Vice President, Hispanic American Bar Association 
Lexi Jones                               jonesa17@duq.edu       3D      President, Women's Law Association
Benjamin Kahn                        kahnb@duq.edu            3D      President, Jewish Law Students Association
Jacob Mazur                           mazurj1@duq.edu         3D      Vice President, Education Initiative for Individual Diversity
Madison Miranda                    mirandam@duq.edu      3D      President, Hispanic American Bar Association
Brianna Schmid                      schmidb@duq.edu         2D      Senator, Student Bar Association
Sarah Thomas                        thomass9@duq.edu       2D      Senator, Student Bar Association
Jonathan Veres                      veresj1@duq.edu           3D       President, Student Bar Association
Ariel Wetzel                            wetzela1@duq.edu        3D       Vice President, Black Law Student Association
Dominique Wiggins                wigginsd@duq.edu        3D        President, Black Law Student Association