Woman of the Year Event

29th Annual Woman of the Year VIRTUAL Event 2021

photo of Catrina A Melograna  Woman of the Year: Catrina A. Melograna, L'11

photo of Tynishia Powell Recent Graduate of the Year: Tynishia Powell, L'16

The Woman of the Year event was established by the students of the Women's Law Association and honors two distinguished women, the Woman of the Year and the Recent Graduate of the Year. The Woman of the Year award is given to a female alumna who promotes gender equality, gives back to the community, demonstrates professionalism and leadership, raises awareness about issues affecting women, maintains a meaningful connection with female Duquesne Law students, and pioneers a new path for women in the legal profession.

The Recent Graduate of the Year is given to a female alumna who also exemplifies these characteristics and who has graduated in the last five years. These awards have been given to many distinguished women in the legal field over the last twenty-eight years, including judges, prominent attorneys, professors, deans and authors. The recipients this year are welcome additions to the legacy and tradition.

This year's Woman of the Year first ever virtual event will be held online at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, March 29, 2021. While this event is traditionally an in-person event sponsored by the Women's Law Association, the Covid-19 pandemic has made it so that we cannot safely gather this year.  We hope that the virtual format will be well attended, as anyone, anywhere in the world can join, as opposed to having to physically be in Pittsburgh for the reception.  The event will be recorded (also a first-time ever element) and made available to view on-demand, after the event.  We will begin with the Awards Ceremony, then open the floor up to guests and the recipients to virtually mingle and provide personal congratulations to our well-deserving recipients. 

The Duquesne University Women's Law Association President, Lexi Jones, will give the Welcome, Dean April Mara Barton of the Duquesne University School of Law will give the Remarks, Dominique Wiggings, the Duquesne University Women's Law Association Woman of the Year Chair will provide the Awards Overview.  Tynishia Powell, Recent Graduate of the Year, will be introduced by Katie Jacobs.  Catrina A. Melograna, Woman of the Year, will be introduced by Nicole A. Brown.  Closing remarks will be given by Shannon Shuttlesworth of the Duquesne University Women's Law Association.

Recording of the 2021 Woman of the Year Virtual Event

Past Recipients - Woman of the Year

2020 Andrea Ocepek Geraghty
2019 Honorable Kim Berkeley Clark
2018 Katie Charlton
2017 Jessica Jurasko
2016 Cynthia E. Kernick
2015 Tracey McCants Lewis
2014 Nicola Henry-Taylor
2013 Mary C. McGinley
2012 Assistant Dean Ella Kwisnek
2011 Professor Amelia Joiner
2010 Toni Pellegrini
2009 Associate Dean Vanessa S. Browne-Barbour
2008 Mary-Jo Rebelo
2007 Honorable Stephanie Domitrovich
2006 Honorable Kate Ford Elliott
2005 Honorable Joy Flowers Conti
2004 Maureen P. Kelly
2003 Professor Jacklyn A. Cherry
2002 Marie Millie Jones
2001 Professor Vanessa S. Browne-Barbour
2000 Honorable Joan Orie Melvin
1999 Honorable Cynthia A. Baldwin
1998 Linda L. Kelly
1997 Honorable Maureen E. Lally-Green
1996 Honorable Donetta W. Ambrose
1995 Caroline Mitchell
1994 Lynna N. Crenny
1993 Gretchen Haggerty

Past Recipients - Recent Graduate of the Year   

2020 Emily C. Weiss
2019 Rebecca L. Silinski
2018 Tami L. Mack
2017 Shayna Petrella Raver
2016 Dr. Christy M. Gamble
2015 Gabriella Steier
2014 Christina Horton Duty
2013 Lisa M. Barnett
2012 Kathryn M. Cooper
2011 Sarah L. Andrews
2010 Michelle Mantini
2009 Amie M. Mihalko
2008 Nicole Scialabba