History & Highlights


Duquesne University's Department of Communication & Rhetorical Studies is the only program from a Catholic university to offer a Ph.D. in Rhetoric that is affiliated with the National Communication Association.

Program Timeline:

  • 2002: Ph.D. program approved by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
  • 2004: Biennial Communication Ethics Conference moved to Duquesne University
  • 2011: Inaugural Annual Richard H. Thames Teaching Award
  • 2012: Inaugural Annual Wilhelm Wurtzer Scholarship Award
  • 2013: First Biennial Philosophy of Communication Conference held at Duquesne University
  • 2013: Inaugural D. Clark Edwards Service Award
  • 2015: The first Richard L. Lanigan Philosophy of Communication Scholar Award presented to Calvin O. Schrag


We invite you to learn about the program highlights for our faculty, graduate students (current/ former), and alumni: