Department of Psychology Student Awards

The Psychology Department grants several awards for undergraduate and graduate students

Undergraduate Student Award for Academic Excellence

This award recognizes excellence in undergraduate psychology at Duquesne. While excellence can be demonstrated in many ways, recipients of this award typically have a GPA of 3.85 or higher, are in involved in service and research, and are recognized by their individual course instructors as exceptional.

Awardees for 2020-2021 Mallory Hebert and Lydia Harvey

  • 2019-2020 Julie Heintzel and Michael Maryniak
  • 2018-19 Natalia Wohar
  • 2017-18 Cris Wildman and Anna Lampe
  • 2016-17 Cydney Staton and Jennifer Rauch
  • 2015-16 Chelsea Day, Honorable mention: Jordon Brody
  • 2014-15 Shreya Vaishnav, Runners-up: Annaliese Kaucic, Miranda Holdaway, Rachel Johnson
  • 2013-14 Heather Jones
  • 2012-13 Lindsey Miller
  • 2011-12 Cassondra Wimmer
  • 2010-11 Matthew Trozzo and Jennifer Peer
  • 2009-10 Camille O'Connor

Undergraduate Student Award for Engaged Scholarship

This award recognizes undergraduate students who pursue scholarly activities above and beyond those assigned in the classroom. Recipients of this award demonstrate a deep engagement with the discipline of psychology as it is practiced at Duquesne.

Awardee for 2020-2021 Emily Burns

  • 2019-2020 Adriana Gulli
  • 2018-19 Jordan Miller
  • 2016-17 Ventura Simmons

Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Teaching

This annual award is given annually to a Psychology doctoral student who demonstrated excellence in teaching. Those who earn this departmental award receive a certificate and a monetary award, and are nominated for the University wide Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Teaching. Many of our distinguished Psychology doctoral students have won the University award over the years.

Awardee for 2020-2021 Benjamin Gaddes 

  • 2019-20 Autumn Marie Chilcote
  • 2018-19 Catherine Guilbeau
  • 2017-18 Elizabeth Bennett
  • 2016-17 Nisha Gupta and Arvin Simon
  • 2015-16 Elizabeth Samson
  • 2013-14 Jonathan Yahalom
  • 2011-12 Julie Futrell
  • 2010-11 Joseph Hamer
  • 2009-10 Amy Taylor
  • 2008-09 Melissa Geib
  • 2007-08 Ryan Mest and Christina Laurita
  • 2006-07 John Danna and Mandy Schleifer

Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Scholarship

This annual award is given to a Psychology doctoral student who demonstrated excellence in scholarship by way of publications and/or conference presentations. Those who earn this departmental award receive a certificate and a monetary award.

Awardee for 2020-2021 Pavan Brar

  • 2019-20 José Luiggi-Hernández
  • 2019-20 Garri Hovhannisyan
  • 2018-19 Monica Lawson
  • 2017-18 Jose Luiggi-Hernandez
  • 2016-17 Sugandh Dixit
  • 2015-16 Monica Lawson
  • 2012-13 Mark Kroll-Fratoni, Shannon Kelly, and Celeste Pietrusza