Eleanore Holveck Essay Contest

2019 Eleanore Holveck Essay

CLICK HERE for information on this year's essay contest!

Undergraduate Research Symposium Award 2018

Nursing students Sydney Cargill and Jazzlyn Horton for a project entitled "Barriers and Facilitators of Breastfeeding among Inner City African American Women."

Congratulations to the 2018 Essay Contest Winners

Undergraduate writing prize: Cayley Hoffman, for an essay focusing on representations of black fathers in works by the poet Robert Hayden and Ta-Nehisi Coates.

The graduate writing prize was awarded to Rachael Owen for a paper focused on interpellation and transgender identity

Congratulations to the 2016 Essay Contest Winners

Ella Walsh, an undergraduate Nursing major and WGS minor for her essay, "Back to Basics: Baring the Breast," which was written for Dr. Jessica Devido's Nursing for Women and Children's Health course.

Erica Freeman, a doctoral student in the Psychology Department and WGS Graduate Certificate student for her essay, "Self-construction via Self-starvation: A Foucauldian Comparative Analysis of Writings of Self-Starvation," written for Dr. Fred Evans's Foucault course.

We thank Drs. Faith Barrett, Laura Engel, Moni McIntyre, and Sarah Miller for volunteering to serve as judges of this contest.

Each spring the Center for Women's and Gender Studies honors one undergraduate and one graduate student with the Eleanore Holveck Essay Award. This award is given to students for essays that follow the submission guidelines and that most effectively and proficiently advance a conversation about women's, gender, or sexuality studies. Winners of this contest receive a certificate and monetary award and are announced at our annual Spring Reception.

Past Undergraduate Student Recipients

2015 Award Winner: Rachel Willis, "The Woman with the Dark Eyes: The Impact of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict on the Palestinian Women's Movement"

2014 Award Winner: Amy Dick, "Sheridan's Commentary on Gender Roles in The Memoirs of Sidney Bidulph"

2013 Award Winner: Sarah Farbacher, "A Kiss That Crosses Time: An Analysis of the Kiss(es) in Michael Cunningham's The Hours"

2012 Award Winner: Katelyn Bienas, "'Double Image,' Double Standards: Gender Roles in the Poetry of Anne Sexton"

2011 Award Winner: Michelle Raley, "Jane Austen's Treatment of Silence: Pride and Prejudice vs. Mansfield Park"

2010 Award Winner: Dacey McGinty, "Independent Girls...Unless They Have a Boy"

2009 Award Winner: Maria K. Barron, "The Sacred Mother: The Showings of Julian of Norwich and Redemption of the Female in Medieval Literature"

2008 Award Winner: Brian Tierney, "Deadwood, Language, and the Engendered Myth of the Old West"

Past Graduate Student Recipients

2015 Award Winner: Will Powell, "'It means I don't know what I am': Christological Liminality in Disability and Queerness"

2014 Award Winner: Sugandh Dixit, "Whose Body Am I Living In?"

2013 Award Winner: Jessica Patella Konig, "Francis Bacon on Nature: The Secret, the Erotic, the Dominated"

2012 Award Winner: Melissa Wehler, "The Public Jordan: Actresses, Caricatures, and Chamber Pots in the Eighteenth Century"

2011 Award Winner: Marcie Panutsos, "Naming the Unspeakable: Constructions of Multicultural Identity in The Woman Warrior"

2010 Award Winner: Matt Lovett, "The Flesh of the Feminine? Merleau-Ponty and Irigaray"

2010 Honorable Mention: Amy Criniti Phillips, "'I want to serve two masters': Mary Elizabeth Braddon's Revision of the Female Consumer in The Doctor's Wife"

2009 Award Winner: Mary J. Parish, "9/11 and the Limitations of the 'Man's Man' Construction of Masculinity in Don DeLillo's Falling Man"

2009 Honorable Mention: Megan M. Kelly, "Gender vs. Race: Constructing Conflict and Perpetuating Racial Patriarchy"

2008 Award Winner: Amy Taylor, "Locating Feminine Gender Identity: Questioning Primary Femininity"