A A Email Print Share

News and Events

Seminar Series 

Departmental News

September 2017: Dr. Mihaela-Rita Mihailescu, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, BSNES, received a grant in the amount of $414,000 from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health for Investigation of Fragile X Mental Retardation Protein Interactions with the miRNA Pathway.

September 2017: Dr. Jeffrey Evanseck, professor, John V. Crable Chair of Undergraduate Research and Inaugural Fr. Joseph Lauritis Chair of Teaching and Technology, BSNES, was appointed as the Lambert F. Minucci Endowed Chair in Engineering and Computational Sciences

February 2015: Congratulations to Prof. Partha Basu, FRSC, who was recently elected a Fellow of the UK's Royal Society of Chemistry! Fellows must be members of the Royal Society with at least 5 years of professional experience who have made "an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the chemical sciences; or to the advancement of the chemical sciences as a profession; or have been distinguished in the management of a chemical sciences organization." The society, founded in 1841, has 51,000 members and more than 7,300 fellows.

January 2015: Congratulations to Alexandra Plaviak, winner of a 2015 American Society of Mass Spectrometry Undergraduate Student Award! The award consists of up to $500 in conference travel funds, a certificate, and free conference registration.

October 2014: Our ACS Student Members have done it again! They've won the national "Outstanding" chapter award for a third year in a row! We are SO proud of you!!

September 2014: Congratulations to Professor Jeffry Madura, recipient of the 2014 Pittsburgh Award of the American Chemical Society! The award is given to recognize "outstanding leadership and distinguished service in the field of chemistry."

July 2014: Recent alumnae Elizabeth Gleixner BS'14 and Kathleen Kelly BS'14 were just awarded Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellowships. The Woodrow Wilson Fellowships are a nationally competitive, prestigious pathway to teaching for gifted undergraduates, designed to "bring new talent into teaching, elevate the profession, and provide the preparation and ongoing support needed for success in the classroom." Congratulations to Liz and Kathleen!

May 2014: Congratulations to Sarah Kochanek, President of our ACS Student Members, for winning Duquesne's Student Leader of the Year Award! You earned it!

May 2014: Our graduate students' honorary chemistry society Phi Lambda Upsilon hosted the First Annual Graduate Student Research Symposium, including invited industrial speakers, a roundtable discussion of career options with alumni, and a student poster session. Congratulations to Jaci Brant, Gavin Buckholtz, and Kim Rosmus, the grand prize winners for most papers published and the paper published in the journal with the highest impact factor. Congratulations as well to winners of best poster prizes in each of the following categories:

Interdisciplinary: Matt Srnec
Physical Chemistry: Emily Benner (Computational)
Analytical Chemistry: Drew Davic
Inorganic: Aman Kaur
Biochemistry: Snezana Stefanovic
Rookie of the year: Breeanna Mintmier

April 2014: Departmental Academic Award winners for 2014 are:
FRESHMEN: Megan Wasson, Ayan Ahmen, Erin Gorse, Edward Hilton, Nisha Mallya
SOPHOMORES: Evan Perez, Stephan Ratsvasky, Megan Hockman, Sarah Lutty, Christian Gaetano
JUNIORS: Allison Jansto, Ben Jagger, Sarah Kochaneck, Saddie Clifford, Andrew Glaid
SENIOR: Drew Farrell
Keep up the great work!

April 2014: Prof. Fraser Fleming was just inducted into Duquesne's Office of Research Hall of Fame in recognition of his outstanding research, based on consistency in sponsored research funding, research impact, and/or funding amounts. Dr. Fleming is the seventh of our 18 faculty members in Chemistry and Biochemistry inducted into the Hall of Fame. Nearly 1/3 of the 23 current Hall of Fame members are from our department! Congratulations, Fraser!

March 2014: Congratulations to Prof. Ellen Gawalt, winner of the 2014 Bayer School Award for Excellence in Teaching and Prof. Tomislav Pintauer, winner of the 2014 Bayer School Award for Excellence in Scholarship and the 2014 University Presidential Award for Excellence in Scholarship!

March 2014: Alumnae Kristine Deibler (Chemistry '12) and Sara Katrancha (Biochemistry '13) were just awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships. They join Ashley Biernesser (Chemistry '11) and Matt J. Wilding Taylor (Chemistry '11) as Duquesne Chemistry alums who currently hold NSF Fellowships. Sara is in the neuroscience program in the Yale School of Medicine and Kristine is studying chemistry at Northwestern University. Congratulations to both!

March, 2014: Congratulations to our newest Goldwater Scholars, Ben Jagger and Sarah Kochanek. Ben and Sarah join Biochemistry major Sara Katrancha (2013-14 Goldwater Scholar) as the first three Goldwater Scholars in Duquesne's history. Their selection is a tribute not only to their exceptional talent and hard work, but also to the dedicated teaching and mentoring our students receive from the Chemistry and Biochemistry faculty.

March 10, 2014: Professor Jennifer Aitken co-authored a guest editorial titled "Celebrating Crystallography" in the American Chemical Society's magazine Chemical & Engineering News to highlight 2014 as the International Year of Crystallography.

February, 2014: Professor and Department Chair Dr. Ralph Wheeler was elected to the governing board of the Council for Chemical Research. The CCR is a coalition of academic, industrial, and government labs dedicated to "Improving Chemical Innovation through Collaboration and Advocacy" in chemistry and chemical engineering. The CCR organizes conferences, issues policy statements, lobbies the Federal government on behalf of science, and presents awards to leaders in the field.

February 2014: Congratulations to Dr. Anna Blice-Baum, PhD '13, winner of Duquesne's 2014 Distinguished Dissertation Award in the Sciences! Dr. Blice-Baum is currently a postdoc a Johns Hopkins University. Her award marks the second year in a row that a graduate from the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department has won the Distinguished Dissertation Award in the Sciences. (Last year's winner was Dr. Kristen Kruszewski.)

February, 2014: Congratulations to graduate student Bernandie Jean, winner of a Chuck Cooper Foundation Scholarship, sponsored by Highmark.

February 1, 2014: Duquesne hosted the 2014 Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Sciences Region 7 Symposium and all the feedback has been great. Thanks to all the volunteers; we're especially proud of our ACS Student Members!! Thanks also to our Gold sponsor, Bayer PJAS LogoCorporation, and to our other sponsors, Fischer Scientific, Lanxess, and VWR International. The event is described here and here.

November 22, 2013: Congratulations to Emma Burnett and her proud mother, Dr. Johanna Burnett, PhD '13. Emma used our NSF-funded SEM facility for her science fair project and was named one of only 30 finalists from across the nation! Emma got to meet President Obama and had a planet named after her. Emma describes her experience here!

April 27, 2011: Sara Katrancha, a sophomore biochemistry major at Duquesne University, received an honorable mention for the Goldwater Scholarship for 2011. Read more.