A A Email Print Share

Building Blocks of Matter

Monday, December 5, 2016 | 7:00 p.m.

Pappert Lecture Hall, Bayer Learning Center
Duquesne University

Free and open to the public with reception to follow.

Dr. Douglas HiginbothamDr. Douglas Higinbotham, Staff Scientist
Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility

Since ancient times, humans have inquired about what makes up the world around them. In antiquity, the Greeks believed the world to be made up of earth, water, air, fire and the aether. Today, researchers at Jefferson Lab study quarks and gluons: what we now believe to be the fundamental building blocks of the atomic nucleus. Jefferson Lab's research on the building blocks of matter will be presented along with a discussion about why you should care.

About Douglas W. Higinbotham, Ph.D.

Dr. Douglas Higinbotham attended the College of William & Mary and graduated 1992 with a major in physics and minor in mathematics. He attended graduate school at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, graduating with a Ph.D. in Nuclear Physics in January 2000. His research on few-body nuclear physics was completed at the NIKHEF research laboratory in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. He was awarded the UVa 1999 Allan Talbott Gwathmey memorial award for graduate research. Douglas then served as a postdoctoral research associate at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 1999 - 2001, during which time he was stationed at Jefferson Lab in Newport News.

In 2001, Douglas joined Jefferson Lab as a staff scientist. He has more than 80 publications and was the corresponding author for Jefferson Lab's first article in the journal Science. In the course of his work, he proposes ideas for experiments, coordinates collaborators from across the world to build and commission the unique equipment for experiments, and serves as coordinator during the experimental runs which last from weeks to months and run 24 hour per day. He mentors doctoral candidates, college students and even area high school students and has twice been awarded the United States Department of Energy's Outstanding Mentor Award.

Sponsored by the Dean's Office of the Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences