Faculty and Staff

Department of Biological Sciences

Chair

Dr. Jana Patton-Vogt

Dr. Jana Patton-Vogt
Professor and Chair
Molecular genetics of phospholipid metabolism in Saccharomyces cerevisiae.

206A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.1053
Departmental Office Phone: 412.396.6332
Departmental Office Fax: 412.396.5907
Email: pattonvogt@duq.edu

See Graduate Program for a list of specific faculty recruiting students for the PhD program.

Faculty

Dr. Phil Auron

Dr. Philip E. Auron
Professor
Eukaryotic gene regulation and signal transduction.

232 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5657
Email: auronp@duq.edu

Dr. Becki Campanaro

Dr. Becki Campanaro
Teaching Assistant Professor (visiting)
Stem cell biology, biochemistry, and science education.

207 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6317
Email: campanarob@duq.edu

Dr. Liz Chalovich

Dr. Elisabeth Chalovich
Teaching Assistant Professor
Human physiology, neuropathology, and science education.

213A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6324
Email: chaloviche@duq.edu

Dr. Kasey Christopher

Dr. Kasey Christopher
Teaching Assistant Professor
Genetics, development, and science education.

213C Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6680
Email: christopherk@duq.edu

Dr. Bryan Delius

Dr. Bryan Delius
Teaching Assistant Professor
Wildlife ecology, aquatic ecosystems, and science education.

260 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.4938
Email: deliusb@duq.edu

Dr. Jill Dembowski Dr. Jill Dembowski
Assistant Professor

Virus-host interactions

240A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.4356
Email: dembowskij2@duq.edu

Dr. Jan Janecka

Dr. Jan E. Janecka
Associate Professor
Genomics and conservation biology.

236 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5640
Email: janeckaj@duq.edu

Dr. Wook Kim

Dr. Wook Kim
Assistant Professor
Molecular and ecological mechanisms of microbial interaction.

244A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6319
Email: kimw1@duq.edu

Dr. Jason Heming

Dr. Jason Heming
Teaching Assistant Professor
Microbiology, molecular biology, and science education.

213B Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.6318
Email: hemingj@duq.edu

Dr David Lampe

Dr. David Lampe
Professor
Microbial control of insect transmitted diseases.

209 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6322
Email: lampe@duq.edu

Dr. Joseph McCormick

Dr. Joseph R. McCormick
Professor 
Genetic dissection of prokaryotic cytokinesis.

201 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.4775
Email: mccormick@duq.edu

Dr. John Pollock

Dr. John A. Pollock
Professor
Co-Director, Chronic Pain Research Consortium
Director of the Partnership in Education
Molecular neurobiology of pain and chronic pain in the peripheral nervous system with and without NSAID therapy.

222A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5565
Cell Phone: 412.855.4043
Email: pollock@duq.edu

Dr. Brady Porter

Dr. Brady Porter
Associate Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies
Genetics of natural populations, evolution, and molecular ecology of fishes.

229 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5786
Email: porterb@duq.edu

Dr. Michael Seaman

Dr. Michael Seaman
Associate Professor
Molecular evolution and population genetics of primates, genome evolution.

218A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.4597
Email: seamanm@duq.edu

Dr. Kyle Selcer

Dr. Kyle Selcer
Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Studies
Role of estrogens and androgens in reproduction and cancer.

241 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5967
Email: selcer@duq.edu

Dr. John Stolz

Dr. John F. Stolz
Director, Center for Environmental Research and Education
Professor, Environmental Microbiology
Environmental microbiology, anaerobic respiration, biomineralization, and bioremediation.

215 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6333
Email: stolz@duq.edu

Dr. Nancy Trun

Dr. Nancy Trun
Associate Professor
Chromosome folding in bacteria and application-based service learning (ABSL) as an educational model.

256 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.1853
Email: trun@duq.edu

Dr. Sarah Woodley

Dr. Sarah Woodley
Associate Professor
Comparative and Integrative Physiology

225A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6320
Email: woodleys@duq.edu

Professor Emeritus

Dr. Peter Castric

Dr. Peter Castric
Professor Emeritus

Glycosylation of Pseudomonas aeruginosa pili.

Email: castric@duq.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Dr. Anne Burrows Dr. Anne Burrows
Professor
Rangos School of Health Sciences
Physical Therapy Department

111 Rangos Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5543
Email: burrows@duq.edu

Research Associates and Post-Doctoral Researchers

Dr. Tetiana Kondratyuk

Dr. Tetiana Cantlay
Research Associate (Stolz Lab)

216 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.4867
Email: cantlayt@duq.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Dakin

Dr. Elisabeth Dakin
Research Associate (Porter Lab/CERE)

233 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.1104
Email: dakine@duq.edu

Dr. Laura Nelson

Dr. Laura Nelson
Research Associate (Patton-Vogt Lab)

206 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.1796
Email: nelsonl4@duq.edu

Staff - Administration and Technical Support

Administration

Terri Widenhofer

Terri Widenhofer
Financial Manager

201 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.5961
Email: widenhofert@duq.edu

Pam Ferchak

Pam Ferchak
Administrative Assistant

201 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.6332
Email: ferchak@duq.edu

Technical Support

Kim Nath

Kim Nath
Laboratory Manager

249A Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.1129
E-mail: nath@duq.edu

Liz Cochran

Elizabeth (Liz) Cochran
Lab Tech I

249 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.2575
Email: cochrane1@duq.edu

Stephanie Kotsch, Lab Tech I

Stephanie Kotsch
Lab Tech I

249 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.4258
Email: kotschs@duq.edu