Faculty and Staff

Department of Biological Sciences

Chair

Dr. Joseph R. McCormick
Professor and Chair
Genetic dissection of prokaryotic cytokinesis.

201 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.4775
Dept. Secretary Phone: 412.396.6332
Dept. Fax: 412.396.5907
Email: mccormick@duq.edu

Graduate Program Faculty

See Graduate Program for a list of specific faculty recruiting students for the PhD program. 

All Faculty

Dr. Teresa Anguiano
Teaching Assistant Professor (visiting)
Molecular toxicology and science education.

207 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.4258
Email: anguianot@duq.edu

Dr. Philip E. Auron
Professor
Eukaryotic gene regulation and signal transduction.

232 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5657
Email: auronp@duq.edu

Dr. Elisabeth Chalovich
Teaching Assistant Professor
Human physiology, neuropathology, and science education.

213A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6324
Email: chaloviche@duq.edu

Dr. Jill Dembowski Dr. Jill Dembowski
Assistant Professor

Virus-host interactions

240A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.4356
Email: dembowskij2@duq.edu

Dr. Jan Janecka

Dr. Jan E. Janecka
Assistant Professor
Genomics and conservation biology.

236 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5640
Email: janeckaj@duq.edu

Dr. Wook Kim

Dr. Wook Kim
Assistant Professor
Molecular and ecological mechanisms of microbial interaction.

Office: 244A Mellon Hall
Lab: 244 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6319
Email: kimw1@duq.edu

Dr. Benedict Kolber Photo

Dr. Benedict Kolber
Associate Professor
Research and Education Coordinator, Chronic Pain Research Consortium
Amygdala in pain and stress in rodents; CNS natural products drug discovery for pain and psychiatric illness; Non-pharmacological treatments for chronic pain.

260 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.1704
Email: kolberb@duq.edu


Dr. David Lampe
Professor
Microbial control of insect transmitted diseases.

209 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6322
Email: lampe@duq.edu

Dr. Lisa Ludvico

Dr. Lisa Ludvico
Teaching Assistant Professor
Forensic DNA and science education.

213C Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6680
Email: ludvico@duq.edu

Dr. Jana Patton-Vogt

Dr. Jana Patton-Vogt
Professor
Molecular genetics of phospholipid metabolism in Saccharomyces cerevisiae.

206A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.1053
Email: pattonvogt@duq.edu

Dr. John A. Pollock
Professor
Co-Director, Chronic Pain Research Consortium
Director of the Partnership in Education
Molecular neurobiology of pain and chronic pain in the peripheral nervous system with and without NSAID therapy.

222A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5565
Cell Phone: 412.855.4043
Email: pollock@duq.edu

Dr. Brady Porter

Dr. Brady Porter
Associate Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies
Genetics of natural populations, evolution, and molecular ecology of fishes.

229 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5786
Email: porterb@duq.edu

Dr. Michael Seaman

Dr. Michael Seaman
Associate Professor
Molecular evolution and population genetics of primates, genome evolution.

218 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.4597
Email: seamanm@duq.edu

Dr. Kyle Selcer

Dr. Kyle Selcer
Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Studies
Role of estrogens and androgens in reproduction and cancer.

241 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.5967
Email: selcer@duq.edu

Dr. John Stolz

Dr. John F. Stolz
Director, Center for Environmental Research and Education
Professor, Environmental Microbiology
Environmental microbiology, anaerobic respiration, biomineralization, and bioremediation.

215 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6333
Email: stolz@duq.edu

Dr. Nancy Trun

Dr. Nancy Trun
Associate Professor
Chromosome folding in bacteria and application-based service learning (ABSL) as an educational model.

256 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.1853
Email: trun@duq.edu

Dr. Corina Wack

Dr. Corina Wack
Teaching Assistant Professor (adjunct)

Behavioral ecology, herpetology, and science education.

Email: wackc@duq.edu

Dr. Charles Welsh

Dr. Charles J. Welsh
Teaching Assistant Professor
Comparative anatomy, ornithology, and evolution.

E102A Fisher Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.2306
Email: welshc@duq.edu

Dr. Sarah Woodley

Dr. Sarah Woodley
Associate Professor
Effects of environmental stressors on amphibian reproduction and health; Neuroendocrinology of chemical communication.

225A Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.6320
Email: woodleys@duq.edu

Professor Emeritus

Dr. Peter Castric

Dr. Peter Castric
Professor Emeritus

Glycosylation of Pseudomonas aeruginosa pili.

Email: castric@duq.edu

Research Associates and Post-Doctoral Researchers

Dr. Tetiana Kondratyuk

Dr. Tetiana Cantlay
Research Associate (Stolz Lab)

216 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.4867
Email: cantlayt@duq.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Dakin

Dr. Elisabeth Dakin
Research Associate (Porter Lab/CERE)

233 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.1104
Email: dakine@duq.edu

Dr. Lakeisha Lewter

Dr. Lakeisha Lewter
Post-doctoral Research Associate (Kolber Lab)

262 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.2376
Email: lewterl@duq.edu

Dr. Anny Treat

Dr. Anny Treat
Post-doctoral Research Associate
(Kolber Lab)

260 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.2376
Email: treata@duq.edu

Staff - Administration and Technical Support

Administration

Terri Widenhofer

Terri Widenhofer
Financial Manager

201 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.5961
Email: widenhofert@duq.edu


Pam Ferchak
Administrative Assistant

201 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.6332
Email: ferchak@duq.edu

Technical Support

Kim Nath

Kim Nath
Laboratory Manager

249A Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.1129
E-mail: nath@duq.edu

Lalitha Rajakumar

Lalitha Rajakumar
Laboratory Administrator

250A Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.5039
Email: rajakuma@duq.edu

Megan Atherton

Megan Atherton
Lab Tech I (Kolber Lab)

262 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.2376
Email: athertonm@duq.edu

Liz Cochran

Elizabeth (Liz) Cochran
Lab Tech I

Phone: 412.396.2575
Email: cochrane1@duq.edu

Mauricio Gil-Silva

Mauricio Gil-Silva
Lab Tech I (Kolber Lab)

262 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.2376
Email: gilsilvam@duq.edu

Jason Heming

Dr. Jason Heming
Lab Tech I

246 Mellon Hall
Phone: 412.396.6318
Email: hemingj@duq.edu

Jeevitha Jeevan

Jeevitha Jeevan
Lab Tech I (McCormick Lab)

Phone: 412.396.4365
Email: jeevanj@duq.edu