Undergraduate Scholarships and Fellowships

Bayer School Science Scholars Program

Bayer Scholars ProgramThe Bayer School Science Scholars Program is a cooperative program among Duquesne University, the Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences, the Citizen Science Lab, and local industries for incoming freshmen who are from an under-represented population in the sciences.

As a Bayer School Scholar, you also receive a full-tuition scholarship for four years of undergraduate study while pursuing a degree in one of the majors offered by the Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences. Each of the following Departments or Programs will be admitting one Bayer School Scholar in fall 2018: Biological Sciences, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Physics, Environmental Science (through the Center for Environmental Research and Education (CERE)), and Forensic Science and Law.

Benefits of this program can include participating in funded summer Undergraduate Research Program (URP) at Duquesne University, the Citizens Science lab, and/or local industry. Selection of your research experiences is flexible and can include participating in the Bayer School's Summer Undergraduate Research Program, a paid summer internship at the Citizen Science Lab, a second paid summer internship that is tailored to the student's area of interest. While holding these positions, you are mentored by Duquesne science faculty, Citizen Science Lab scientists and/or local industry science professionals.

More information is available through the Bayer School Science Scholars Program site and application link.

Some links related to the summer research opportunities related to the Bayer School Scholars Program.

Crable Fellowship and Deverse Fellowship

In honor of Mr. John V. Crable and the Frank and Patsy Deverse Families, the Chemistry and Biochemistry faculty created the endowed John V. Crable Undergraduate Fellowship in 2005 and the Frank and Patsy Deverse Undergraduate Fellowship in 2014. The primary purpose of these programs is to recognize and support truly outstanding Chemistry and Biochemistry Honor students through research experiences and academic scholarships.

Each year, up to four John V. Crable Fellows (two juniors and two seniors, typically) and up to four Frank and Patsy Deverse Fellows (two juniors and two seniors) are named. Both Fellowships are the most significant distinction that the Department can award for undergraduate scholarship. Chemistry and Biochemistry (B.S.) majors in their sophomore years are eligible to apply for a two-year Fellowship. The Deverse Fellowship is reserved as the top recognition, since it's academic scholarship is the largest offered.

To be eligible for the Fellowships, the students must apply to the Honors Thesis program. The selection criteria include a minimum QPA of 3.5, the student's academic record, their undergraduate research record (presentations, publications), and their potential for graduation with an Honors thesis directed by a faculty member of the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department.

The Fellowship starts in the student's junior year, and offers the following scholarship and fellowship benefits: academic scholarship ($3,000 Crable/student/year and ($4,500 Deverse/student/year); summer Undergraduate Fellowship between the junior and senior years, as managed by the Undergraduate Research Program (URP) (~$4,400/summer); and travel to national conference(s) or supplies ($1,000/student/year).

While prior research (i.e. freshman and/or sophomore year) is not required for the Fellowship, it is considered as part of the applicant's package, and can be helpful in identifying Fellows in the case where there are a number of applicants.

Applications are solicited by the John V. Crable Chair of Undergraduate Research (currently Dr. Jeffery Evanseck), a faculty member elected to a three-year term by a vote of the faculty, and selection of student recipients is based on academic accomplishment. The Crable Fellowship is named for an alumnus of the department who established the endowment.