A A Email Print Share

Meet the Faculty

NAME

RESEARCH EXPERTISE

Photo of Dr. Rebecca ChiaLichun (Rebecca) Chia, PhD, RN

chial@duq.edu

412.396.4102

  • Chronic diseases self-management (with emphases of adults/older adults with diabetes and cardiovascular disease risks)
  • Patient-centered care/medical home
  • Behavioral intervention utilizing health information technology (HIT)
  • Adherence (medication and life-style modifications)
  • Healthcare disparities

Photo of Dr. Alison ColbertAlison Colbert, PhD, APRN, BC, FAAN

colberta@duq.edu

412.396.1511

  • Public and community health, criminal justice system, health literacy
  • HIV/AIDS/infectious disease, adherence, health promotion and care in vulnerable populations
  • Patient engagement
  • Nursing, education and disabilities

Photo of Dr. Michael DeemMichael Deem, PhD

deemm@duq.edu

412.396.1441

  • Ethical and conceptual issues in genetic/genomic medicine
  • Neonatal and pediatric ethics
  • Public health ethics
  • Justice in healthcare and public health
  • Catholic bioethics
  • Philosophy of biology and medicine

Photo of Dr. Jessica DevidoJessica Devido, PhD, CPNP

devidoj@duq.edu

412.396.1032

  • Community-engaged research
  • Philosophy of biology and medicine
  • Health disparities
  • Maternal/child health
  • Health promotion
  • Mixed methods

Photo of Sr. Rosemary DonleySister Rosemary Donley, PhD, APRN-BC, FAAN

donleyr@duq.edu

412.396.6555

  • Vulnerable populations
  • Social justice
  • Health policy
  • Nursing education
  • Chronic illness in adults

Photo of Dr. Linda GarandLinda Garand, PhD, GCNS-BC

garandl@duq.edu

412.396.6543

  • Intervention studies
  • Randomized controlled trails
  • Feasibility studies
  • Prevention research
  • Mental health of family caregivers of persons with dementia
  • Mental health of family caregivers of Veterans with traumatic brain injury
  • Geriatric nursing research
  • Mental health research

Photo of Dr. Mary Ellen GlasgowMary Ellen Glasgow, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN

glasgowm@duq.edu

412.396.6553

  • Nursing education innovation
  • Inter-professional simulation
  • Bone marrow donation
  • Oncology
  • Leadership

Photo of Dr. Karen JakubKaren Jakub, PhD, RN

jakubk@duq.edu

412.396.6535

  • Chronic heart disease
  • Qualitative research methods
  • Technology interventions for cardiac arrhythmias
  • Genetics in nursing and health
  • Policy, legal, and ethical Issues in genetics

Photo of Dr. Melissa KalarchianMelissa Kalarchian, PhD

kalarchianm@duq.edu

412.396.5204

  • Obesity and bariatric surgery
  • Behavioral lifestyle intervention
  • Psychosocial functioning
  • Health behaviors
  • Clinical studies

Photo of Dr. Patricia Watts KelleyPatricia Watts Kelley, PhD RN, FNP, GNP, FAANP, FAAN

kelleyp@duq.edu

412.396.2070

  • Military, veteran and military family health
  • Military culture and military and veteran health policy
  • Humanitarian and disaster global health engagements
  • Clinical knowledge development - experiential learning
  • Health promotion and disease prevention
  • Self-care management and patient engagement with complex chronic conditions (diabetes, congestive heart failure, transplantation)
  • Translational research - implementation science, evidenced based practice and team science
  • Gerontology - health, aging and policy
  • Professional nursing areas (workforce, retention and recruitment, ethical decision making and leadership)
  • Research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed)

Photo of Dr. Rebecca KronkRebecca Kronk, PhD, MSN, CRNP, FAAN, CNE

kronkr@duq.edu

412.396.2288

  • Genetic Literacy
  • Genetic education in nursing students
  • Vaccine refusal and the nurse's role
  • Health outcomes of nursing students
  • Sleep in children with special needs
  • Photovoice
  • Healthcare and people with disabilities

Photo of Dr. Joan LockhartJoan Such Lockhart, PhD, RN, AOCN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN

lockhart@duq.edu

412.396.6540

  • Eliminating health disparities in cancer care for vulnerable populations
  • Health promotion, prevention, and risk assessment in cancer care
  • Culturally appropriate, community-based interventions in health promotion, capacity building, and self-management in cancer care and bystander CPR/AEDs
  • Assessment of learning outcomes
  • Best practices in nursing education for quality, safe cancer survivor care

Photo of Dr. Noah PotvinNoah Potvin, PhD, MT-BC

potvinn@duq.edu

412.396.1786

  • Pre-bereavement for informal hospice caregivers
  • Dementia and gerontology
  • End-of-life and advanced illness care
  • Resource-oriented and strengths-based clinical approaches
  • Music and spirituality
  • Interpretivist research (emphasis in grounded theory)
  • Pedagogical approaches and theories among music therapy educators

Photo of Dr. Khlood SalmanKhlood Salman, DrPH, RN

salmank@duq.edu

412.396.1509

  • Breast cancer and cervical cancer prevention among minority women
  • Immigrant and refugee women's health promotion and disease prevention
  • Global and international health studies
  • Environmental health
  • Interfaith dialogue studies

Photo of Dr. James SchreiberJames Schreiber, PhD

schreiberj@duq.edu

412.396.1144

  • Motivation and cognition
  • Peircean reasoning
  • Research methodology
  • Statistical analysis and modeling using both Fisherian and Bayesian techniques
  • Multi-faceted wellness

Photo of Dr. Kathy SekulaKathleen Sekula, PhD, APRN

sekula@duq.edu

412.396.4865

  • Vulnerable populations
  • Psychiatric implications in forensic nursing
  • Victims of violence
  • Domestic violence
  • Sexual assault
  • Forensic nursing

Photo of Dr. Lynn SimkoLynn Simko, PhD, RN, CCRN

simko@duq.edu

412.396.5096

  • Quality of life
  • Congenital heart disease
  • Intensive care nursing
  • Simulation and student outcomes
  • Interprofessional education
  • Pain research
  • Adults with congenital heart disease

Photo of Dr. Pam SpigelmyerPamela C. Spigelmyer, PhD, RN, CNS

spigelmyerp@duq.edu

412.396.1507

  • Family caregivers for people with dementia
  • Geriatric nursing
  • EPB/research
  • Descriptive phenomenology and qualitative research methods
  • End-of-life caregiving

Photo of Dr. Melanie TurkMelanie Turk, PhD, RN

turkm@duq.edu

412.396.1817

  • Behavioral treatment of obesity
  • Weight loss and maintenance
  • Behavior change for health promotion among vulnerable populations
  • Theoretical frameworks for health behavior

Photo of Dr. Eric VogelsteinEric Vogelstein, PhD

vogelsteine@duq.edu

412.396.4466

Clinical bioethics and related topics in ethical theory, including:

  • The ethics of advanced directives and surrogate decision-making
  • The morality of physician- assisted dying, including nurses' participation 
  • The moral status of prenatal life 
  • Moral expertise and ethics consultants

Photo of Dr. Rick ZouchaRick Zoucha, PhD, APRN-BC, CTN-A, FAAN

zoucha@duq.edu

412.396.6545

  • Community based participatory action research
  • Psychiatric nursing
  • Transcultural/international nursing
  • Cultural competence/Mexican Americans, African Americans, refugee/immigrants and their health needs