A A Email Print Share

School of Nursing News

Diversity Award Winner

Photo of Kate DeLucaCongratulations Dr. Kate DeLuca on being named the 2019 Duke of Diversity award winner. She was recognized for her unwavering commitment to diversity and inclusion across campus, and the incredible impact she has on students, staff, and faculty.

Students and Faculty Participate in First Global Health Showcase "Understanding Global Health"

Photo of students at Global Health Showcase

Photo of Dr. Melanie Turk with her poster

Students Alexa Boni and Margaret Belcher display their poster titled "The Effects of Pictorial Hygiene Education among Adult Women in El Tamarindo, Dominican Republic." Dr. Donna White and Dr. Linda Garand were their faculty advisors. Faculty presented their poster titled "Global Experience for PhD Students - Curricular Innovation." Authors of the poster: Dr. Melanie Turk (pictured), Dr. Rick Zoucha, Dr. Kathleen Sekula and Dr. Melissa Kalarchian.
Photo of Dr. Rick Zoucha and Dr. Khlood Salman with poster
Dr. Rick Zoucha and Dr. Khlood Salman with their poster "Cultural Values and Beliefs Related to Breast Cancer: A Focused Ethnography."

School of Nursing Receives Grant to Expand Awareness of NIH All of Us Research Program

Duquesne University's School of Nursing is one of nine nursing schools chosen to receive American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) funding in support of the All of Us Research Program, a landmark longitudinal research effort that seeks to build a national research cohort of one million or more participants reflecting the diversity of the United States.

Grant recipient Rick Zoucha, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, CTN-A, FAAN, Professor and Chair of Advanced Role and PhD Program and the Joseph A. Lauritis, C.S.Sp. Chair for Teaching and Technology in the School of Nursing, used the funds to increase awareness of the program and the importance of participation of individuals not often represented in biomedical research.

Zoucha collaborated with members of the Chi Eta Phi Sorority and the local community to host Celebrating Health in Pittsburgh Diverse Communities on Dec. 8, 2018. The event attracted more than 75 participants and featured an information health fair, a research presentation and a town hall meeting featuring topics on the health of underrepresented groups.

Launched by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), All of Us aims to improve the ability to prevent and treat disease based on individual differences in lifestyle, environment and genetics. To learn more about the All of Us Research Program, visit allofus.nih.gov.

Faculty, Staff Celebrate at Annual Holiday Reception

Photo of Ken Gormley, Amy Konop and Melanie Turk

President Ken Gormley with Amy Konop and Melanie Turk

Graduates Honored at Winter Commencement Ceremony

Congratulations to staff member D'rese Despert who graduated with an MS in Management Systems degree.

Photo of Torrie Snyder and D'rese Despert at graduation

Dr. Torrie Snyder and D'rese Despert

Grants Awarded

Congratulations to faculty for receiving the following grants:

Dr. Khlood Salman and Dr. Marinus, Chair of Theology, received a $10,000 grant from the U.S. Islamic Relief to focus on the events and activities for the Consortium of Christin Muslim Dialogue.

Dr. Alison Colbert received a $10,000 grant for her Prenatal Support and Doula Services for Incarcerated Women project.

Dr. Kathleen Sekula received $1,469,650 from the Health Resources and Services Administration for the Advanced Nurse Education-Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner program.

Dr. Rick Zoucha has been funded by the Highmark Foundation for the project Toward Mental Health Equity, Empowering Female Veterans: Promoting Mental Health First Aid. This $25,000 project, a joint venture with Duquesne University's Veterans to Bachelors of Science in Nursing (VBSN) program, will train and certify groups of female veterans in mental health first aid.

Dr. Lynn Simko and her colleagues have received funding for their project, "Does a Pain Empathy Kit Increase Empathy for Patients with Chronic Pain in Health Care Students?" from Duquesne's Leach II Fund. This is a great example of a longer-term interdisciplinary collaboration related to the scholarship of teaching and learning.

Sr. Rosemary Donley and David Nolfi have received funding for their project, "Raising Awareness of Human Trafficking among the Public and Research Communities" from Duquesne's Leach II Fund. This is a wonderful collaboration with library intern Liz Walkman in the area of social justice.

Dr. Patricia Watts Kelley - Accounts of Care Partnerships with Wounded, Ill, or Injured Service Members, funded by TriService in the amount of $484,982.

Students Paint Mural on the Pediatric Simulation Room Wall

Students Linnea Greci and Jillian Clark painted a mural on the wall of the Pediatric Simulation room in Libermann Hall. Their project was to create a child friendly environment to help nursing students learn to treat pediatric patients differently than adult patients. The mural can be used to help children cope with medical procedures through two different activities: Search and Find; and Story Telling. The mural was designed for patients from infants to age seven.

Photo of students painting muralPhoto of finished mural

Two Faculty, Three Alumni Named American Academy of Nursing Fellows

Dr. Alison Colbert, associate professor and associate dean for academic affairs, and Dr. Becky Kronk, associate professor and chair of the undergraduate nursing programs, have been selected by the American Academy of Nursing as members of its 2018 class of academy fellows.

The following School of Nursing alumni also have been selected as academy fellows:

  • Dr. Diane Hupp, vice chair of Duquesne's board of directors and a member of the School of Nursing Advisory Board
  • Dr. Hiba Wehbe-Alamah, professor of nursing at the University of Michigan-Flint
  • Dr. Emerson Ea, clinical associate professor and assistant dean for clinical and adjunct faculty affairs at New York University's Rory Meyers College of Nursing

Criteria include significant contributions to nursing and health care, and sponsorship by two current academy fellows. Less than 1 percent of nurses are selected as fellows, which is the American Academy of Nursing's highest honor. Fellows are nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy and research.

Faculty Named AANP Fellow

Congratulations to Dr. Denise Lucas who was inducted into the AANP (American Association of Nurse Practitioners) as a Fellow!

Established in 2000, the Fellows of the AANP (FAANP) is dedicated to the global advancement of NPs and the high-quality health care they deliver. By engaging recognized NP leaders who have made outstanding contributions to NP education, policy, clinical practice or research, and developing NP leaders of the future, we are furthering the NP profession while enhancing AANP's mission.