Of Note, Honors

P'87 Tom Kreiner of Hazel Hurst has announced his candidacy for McKean County Commissioner on the Republican ticket in the May 21 primary election. As a registered pharmacist, he worked for Rite Aid Pharmacy in Kane as a pharmacist/manager from 1987 until 2001 and for the next four years at Tops Pharmacy in Bradford. From 2005 to 2019, Kreiner was a pharmacist at the Bradford Regional Medical Center, serving as pharmacy director from 2011 to 2019. His local government experience includes 11 years as a Hamlin Township supervisor including chairing the three-member commission. Full Article
P'79 Donna Hazel was recently elected to a thre-year term as a member of the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association Educational Foundation Board. She is currently a regional pharmacy recruiter with Ritw Aid and is also director of the pharmacy technicians programs.
P'77 LaVerne VanDeWall will receive the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Samaritan Medical Center at the seventh annual Physician Recognition Dinner on Thursday, April 4, 2019. One physician is selected to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, which was been established to recognize a Samaritan physician for his/her leadership and service to the health and well-being of the Northern New York community. Dr. VanDeWall, an internist, has been a member of the SMC Medical Staff since 1992. Full Article
P'76 Jonathan Klemens is the author of the historical fiction baseball novelette, The Secret of the Red Box. It has been accepted for inclusion in the library of the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown.
P'04 Heather A. Sakely was given the 2018 Healthcare Professional Geriatrics Teacher of the Year Award by the Pennsylvania Geriatric Society-Western Division. She is director of UPMC St. Margaret PGY-2 Geriatric Pharmacy Residency program and has "developed curriculum for a geriatric pharmacy residency that includes an integrated system of collaborating pharmacists and doctors in inpatient, outpatient and long-term care settings."
Pharm.D.'11 Jacqueline Hilton graduated from Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine (Arizona) with her DMD in 2015, and recently graduated from a dental general practice residency from Advocate Illinois Masonic Medica Center in Chicago. She is currently working as a military contract general dentist at Vandenberg AFB in Lompoc, Calif.
Pharm.D.'09 Jonathan Ogurchuak, vice president for business operations and managing partner at PANTHERx Specialty Pharmacy was name as one of Pittsburgh Business Times' "Fast Trackers," an award given to up-and-comers under 40 years of age in the Pittsburgh area based on their past accomplishments, as well as potential for significant career advancement.
Pharm.D.'07 Ryan Koleno was awarded the 2017 Oncology Field Medical Excellence Award for Exemplary service from Pfizer, where is employed as a field medical director.
Pharm.D.’12 Brandon Smith graduated from Marshall University School of Medicine with his M.D. and will complete his internal medicine residency at UPMC Mercy Hospital.
Pharm.D.’03 Maria Osborne, BCACP, CDE, was recently elected vice president of the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association Educational Foundation board of directors. She is a clinical pharmacist within UPMC St. Margaret Family Practices offices involved in the SCRIPT Project, a medical home research study being conducted in Pittsburgh.
P’96 Michelle (Wedge) Cooley received her MBA with dual specializations in health care management and operations management from the University of Scranton.