2018 Alumni Conference Recap

The School of Pharmacy's Pharmacy Alumni Association held its 34th Annual Alumni Conference and Awards Banquet on March 16-18 at the luxurious Nemacolin Woodlands Resort, which is known for its 2,000 beautiful, wooded acres in the Laurel Highlands of Southwestern Pennsylvania. Alumni from all over the country were in attendance. The conference hosted several events, including a continuing education speaker series, Saturday evening Mass with Fr. Shawn Anderson (P'92), and Deacon Greg Woods (P'73), followed by a reception and the awards banquet. With over 150 alumni in attendance for the dinner Saturday evening, the conference was well attended.

2018 ALumni ConferenceThe continuing education series included the following presentations:

  • Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse for Clinicians
  • Preceptor Strategies for Managing Challenging Student Situations – Amy Woods, Pharm.D. (2012)
  • Pharmacists Roles in a Medication Assisted Treatment Program for Opioid Addiction – Diane Kim, Pharm.D. (PGY1 Resident)
  • Antibiotic Stewardship – Deborah A. Milito, B.S. Pharmacy (1980), Pharm.D. (1997)
  • Marijuana Medication Therapy Management – Mary G. Mihalyo, B.S. Pharmacy (1981), Pharm.D. (1998), CGP, BCPS
  • The Pharmaciust's Role in Personalized Medicine: A Review of Pharmacogenomics – Katherine Lin, Pharm.D. (Pharm.D. 2008), BCPS, BCOP

Among those recognized for outstanding achievement at the 2018 Pharmacy Alumni Conference are:

Distinguished Alumnus Award – Michael Zeglinski, P'89

Alumni Achievement Award – Jodi Lech, P'97, Pharm.D.‘99

Recent Graduate Alumnus Award – Jonathan Ogurchak, Pharm.D.‘09

The Pharmacy Deans Society recognizes individuals who have supported the School of Pharmacy at an annual amount of $2,500 or more and are designated as Associates and those who have contributed a cumulative of $50,000 or greater are designated at Fellows level.

The 2018 Associates of the Pharmacy Deans Society include: Andrew J. Altobelli, Margaret Artz, James and Sofia Beaumariage, William & Maureen Bell, Michele A. Belsey, J. Douglas Bricker, F. Kevin Browett, Steven L. Buraczewski, Craig G. Cochenour, Susan DeCarle, Edward DePaz, Ernest & Evelyn Dostalik, Lorraine Duncan, Thomas Elias, Edward & Barbara Erzen, James Gillespie, Diann Glickman, John Grabenstein, Mary Gyi, Donna J. Hazel, Nancy A. Huff, Jason Hunkele, James & Irene Ingram, John & Patricia Jarzynka, Trudy King, John Lech, Dolores Lovin, Barbara A. Martin, Barbara A. McElroy, George McMillin & Susan DeCorte-McMillin, Mary Meredith, Michael Mermigas, Terri Micolucci, Barbara O'Donnell, Lisa Odeh, Maureen Prack, Christine L. Rafferty, Mary Jo Reilly, John R. Reynolds & Lynne Sylvia, Betty Robertson, David D. & Angela D. Shetter, Dave & Monica Skomo, Ernest Skultety, Frank Sorgi, Leonard Stevens, Charles J. Trainor, Louis & Barbara Vottero, and David J. Wargo.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and horizon-expanding education. A campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, Duquesne prepares students by having them work alongside faculty to discover and reach their goals. The University's academic programs, community service, and commitment to equity and opportunity in the Pittsburgh region have earned national acclaim. 

It's time for bigger goals
. Follow Duquesne University on FacebookTwitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.