Alumni Conference Recognitions and Awards

The Mylan School of Pharmacy recently held their 29th Annual Alumni Conference at the luxurious Nemacolin Woodlands Resort. Known for it’s beautiful location and it’s 2,000 wooded acres in the Laurel Highlands of Southwestern Pennsylvania, alumni from all over the country were in attendance. Hosted by the Pharmacy Alumni Association, the conference hosted events including a continuing education speaker series, a 50th Year Anniversary reception, a Saturday evening mass, and reception followed by the awards banquet. With over 220 alumni in attendance for the dinner Saturday evening, the conference was well attended.

The continuing education series included the following presentations:

“A Pharmacist Impact on Health of Indigent Populations,” – Holly Rosenblatt, PharmD. ;
“Update on Antiretrovial Therapy: A Guide for Pharmacists,” – Douglas Slain, PharmD.; B CPS, F.C.C.P, FASHP;
“Review of Current Schizophrenia Pharmacotherapy and Upcoming Agents,” - John R. Tomko, PharmD.; BCPP;
“Why I Don’t Want to be Perfect: A Discussion About Quality,” - Mark Conklin, PharmD.;
“The Role of a Pharmacy in Transitions of Care: Bridging the GAP,” - 2013 Distinguished Speaker, Karl E. Meehan, R . Ph .;
“Recent Trends in Generic Drug Development and Regulation,” – John D. Kirsch, R . Ph., Ph . D., MBA, & David J. Wargo, R . Ph., Ph . D.,
“Rules of Engagement for Preceptors on an APPE Management Rotation,” – John DeJames, R . Ph.

Among those recognized at the 2013 Mylan School of Pharmacy Alumni Conference for outstanding achievement were:

Distinguished Alumnus – Karl R. Meehan, R . Ph. (P’8 3), Vice President Health System Programs
Alumni Achievement – Michael John Antonaccio, Ph . D., F.A.C.C (P’66)
Recent Graduate Achievement – Maria A. Osborne, Pharm.D., B.C.A.C.P (P’03)

The Pharmacy Deans Society recognizes individuals who have supported the School of Pharmacy at an annual amount of $2,500 or more and are designated as Associates and those who have contributed a cumulative of $50,000 or greater are designated at Fellows.

The 2013 Associates of the Pharmacy Deans Society include:
Andrew J. Altobelli, J. Douglas Bricker, Steven L. Buraczewski, Craig Cochenour, Edward DePaz, Ernie and Evelyn Dostalik, Lorraine Duncan, Dennis Engel, Jan and Jeff Fisher, Diann Glickman, Donna Hazel, and Nancy Huff.

The 2013 inductees of the Pharmacy Deans Society Fellows – Michael Antonaccio, Amy and Walter Lizza and John Timo.  Previous Fellows include: Vincent Cancilla, Bob and Pat Gussin, Don Kerrish, Sylvia Mulvihill, Hugo Scarinzi, and John Valenti.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and horizon-expanding education. A campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, Duquesne prepares students by having them work alongside faculty to discover and reach their goals. The University's academic programs, community service, and commitment to equity and opportunity in the Pittsburgh region have earned national acclaim. 

It's time for bigger goals
. Follow Duquesne University on FacebookTwitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.