Congratulations To The Class Of 2017

Bricker At CommencementThe Duquesne University School of Pharmacy held its Annual Spring Commencement on May 20, 2017 in the AJ Palumbo Center. Graduating from the School of Pharmacy, 188 students earned the Doctor of Pharmacy degree; two students earned the Doctor of Philosophy Degree in Pharmaceutics; one student earned the Master of Science Degree in Pharmaceutics; and 17 students earned Bachelors of Science degrees in Health Care Supply Chain Management. Dean J. Douglas Bricker, the seventh dean of the School, in his opening remarks stated, "The School of Pharmacy celebrates its 91st year of educating the best-prepared pharmacists in the country. These women and men will join over 6,450 pharmacists who have graduated and are proud to call Duquesne University–their University."

This year's Commencement speaker was Terry Talbott (P'87), Regional Director of Government Affairs, CVS Vice Chairperson, Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy.

The day's events began with a Baccalaureate Mass in the Chapel. The Mass is a special beginning to the day-long celebration. A continental breakfast followed in the Student Union Ballroom, prior to the Commencement ceremony. Following the Commencement ceremony, the Dean and the Faculty of the School of Pharmacy hosted a gathering for the graduates and their families in the Student Union Ballroom.

Several graduates were honored with the following awards:

  • Hannah Astley: Sara A. Corey Award for Involvement in Community Practice Programs
  • Frederick Bentzel: Royal Society of Chemistry Excellence Award
  • Hannah Cawaoski: Lilly Achievement Award for Superior Scholastic and Professional Achievement and Leadership
  • Lauren Curry: AphA-ASP Award for Interest and Service in Pharmacy Organization Work;
    Mylan Award for Excellence in Pharmacy
  • Andrew Gaiser: United States Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Pharmacy Practice Award
  • Scott Heinemann: Teva Award for Excellence in Pharmacy
  • Kianna Motto: J. Cornetti Tucci Award for Excellence in Pharmaceutics
  • Christopher Raybuck: 2017 Faculty Award
  • Rachael Richter: Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association Outstanding Pharmacy Student Award
  • Alvina Tran: Wolters Kluwer Award of Excellence in Clinical Communication
  • Sha-Phawn Williams: Thomas J. Mattei Award for Excellence in Community Care

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and horizon-expanding education. A campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, Duquesne prepares students by having them work alongside faculty to discover and reach their goals. The University's academic programs, community service, and commitment to equity and opportunity in the Pittsburgh region have earned national acclaim. 

It's time for bigger goals
. Follow Duquesne University on FacebookTwitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.