School Of Pharmacy Holds 32nd Annual Alumni Conference

Alumni ConferenceThe School of Pharmacy Pharmacy Alumni Association held its 32nd Annual Alumni Conference and Awards Banquet on March 17–19 at the luxurious Nemacolin Woodlands Resort.

The conference hosted several events, including a continuing education speaker series, Saturday evening Mass with Fr. Dan Walsh, Fr. Shawn Anderson (P'92), and Dean Greg Woods (P'73), followed by a reception and the awards banquet. The conference was well attended with over 210 alumni at dinner Saturday evening.

The continuing education series included the following presentations:

  • Welcome to the Future: Current Hypertension and Blood Cholesterol Guideline Updates, - Ashley D. Modany, Pharm.D. (2014)
  • Review of Selected New Drugs of 2016 - Marc W. Harrold, R.Ph., Ph.D. (P'82)
  • 340B Program Overview - William Niccolai, R.Ph. (P'79)
  • Current Tools Available to Enhance the Role of the Pharmacist in the Retail Setting - Christopher Darling, R.Ph. (P'97)
  • PA Board of Pharmacy: New and Pending Regulation Updates - Gayle Cotchen, Pharm.D. (P'76, Pharm.D.'07)
  • Update on Pain Management and Palliative Care - Michelle Mikus-Rachwal, Pharm.D. (2013)

Among those recognized at the 2017 Pharmacy Alumni Conference for outstanding achievement were:

Distinguished Alumni Award

Donna Hazel, P'79

Alumni Achievement Award

Gayle Cotchen, P'76, Pharm.D.‘07

Recent Graduate Alumnus Award

Jonathan Ogurchak, Pharm.D.‘09

The Pharmacy Deans Society recognizes individuals who have supported the School of Pharmacy at an annual amount of $2,500 or more and are designated as Associates and those who have contributed a cumulative of $50,000 or greater are designated at Fellows level.

The 2017 Associates of the Pharmacy Deans Society include: James and Sofia Beaumariage, J. Douglas Bricker, Steven L. Buraczewski, Craig G. Cochenour, Susan DeCarle, Ernest & Evelyn Dostalik, Thomas Elias, Edward & Barbara Erzen, James Gillespie, John Grabenstein, Mary Gyi, Donna J. Hazel, Nancy A. Huff, James & Irene Ingram, John & Patricia Jarzynka, John Lech, Dolores Lovin, Barbara A. Martin, Susan DeCorte-McMillin, Maureen Prack, Mary Jo Reilly, Dave & Monica Skomo, Ernest Skultety, Louis & Barbara Vottero, and David J. Wargo.

The 2017 inductee of the Pharmacy Deans Society Fellow is Charles Trainor.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and horizon-expanding education. A campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, Duquesne prepares students by having them work alongside faculty to discover and reach their goals. The University's academic programs, community service, and commitment to equity and opportunity in the Pittsburgh region have earned national acclaim. 

It's time for bigger goals
. Follow Duquesne University on FacebookTwitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.