Commuter Assistant Program

Each new freshman and transfer student is assigned a Commuter Assistant (CA) during their first year at Duquesne. Commuter Assistants are upperclassmen who serve as mentors to new students as they transition into college life. Each student is usually assigned a CA that is in the same school, and sometimes even the same major as them.

In doing so, students should look to their CA as being a great resource for them, not only about things related to commuting, but also academics and other aspects of student life as well. The CAs plan various programs and activities throughout the semester to get students involved on campus and encourage them to meet other people. Each CA holds weekly office hours in the Office of Commuter Affairs and is always available to meet with their students during that time

Fall 2020 Commuter Assistants

Tom Aumer                                                   

Major: Physics
Year: Junior
Commutes From: Beechview
E-mail: aumert@duq.edu

Mikolaj Bandosz

Major: Pharmacy
Year: Sophomore
Commutes From: Mt. Lebanon
E-mail: bandoszm@duq.edu 

Caitlin Corcoran

Major: Early Childhood Education
Year: Sophomore
Commutes From: Mckees Rocks
E-mail: corcoranc1@duq.edu

Lori Gatz

Major: Pharmacy
Year: Sophomore
Commutes From: Bethel Park
E-mail: gatzl1@duq.edu

Roberto Laporte

Major: Supply Chain Management
Year: Junior
Commutes From: Bellevue
E-mail: laporter@duq.edu

Isabella Porta   

Major: Modern Languages and Mathematics 
Year: Sophomore
Commutes From: Gibsonia 
E-mail: portai@duq.edu

Eve Rosemeier 

Major: Finance 
Year: Sophomore
Commutes From: Bethel Park
E-mail: rosemeiere@duq.edu

Anna Rutkowski

Major: Communications, PR & Advertising  
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Brighton Heights
E-mail: rutkowskia@duq.edu

Katelyn Sitar 

Major: Psychology 
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Upper St. Clair
E-mail: sitark@duq.edu

Brooke Taylor

Major: Nursing 
Year: Junior
Commutes From: Bethel Park
E-mail: taylorb8@duq.edu

Fall 2020 South Side Commuter Assistants

Kathryn Grieb

Major: Nursing
Year: Senior
Commutes From: South Side
E-mail: griebk@duq.edu

Bailey Masser

Major: Biology
Year: Senior
Commutes From: South Side
E-mail: masserb@duq.edu

Nick Puglielli

Major: Physician Assistant Studies
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Uptown
E-mail: pugliellin@duq.edu