In October 2014, the Greater Pittsburgh Higher Education Diversity Consortium (GPHEDC) was formed to better assist and develop a robust investment on the critical issues impacting diversity and inclusion in higher education throughout the Pittsburgh region. 

Housed in the Office of Diversity Inclusion at Duquesne University, the consortium is focused on sharing best practices, resources, and promoting activities that cultivate professional development, leadership development and student success at a variety of higher education institutions.

Current GPHEDC Member Institutions

  • Carlow University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Chatham University
  • Community College of Allegheny County
  • Duquesne University
  • Edinboro University
  • Grove City College
  • Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • LaRoche College
  • Point Park University
  • Penn State University
  • Robert Morris University
  • Seton Hill University
  • Slippery Rock University
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • Washington & Jefferson College
  • Westminster College

Mission Statement

The Greater Pittsburgh Higher Education Diversity Consortium (GPHEDC) is dedicated to guiding and facilitating transformative change to promote diversity, equity and inclusion in support of academic excellence and educational opportunities at colleges and universities in the Southwestern Pennsylvania region.