Rev. Pierre Schouver, C.S.Sp. Endowed Chair in Mission

Rick McCown, Ph.D.

Father Pierre Schouver, C.S.Sp., served as Superior General of the Congregation of the Holy Spirit from 1992-2004.

uzukwuMcCown became the second holder of the Schouver Chair in 2016, succeeding the Rev. Elochukwu Uzukwu, C.S.Sp.

McCown is a Professor of Education at Duquesne University, where he has served as Department Chair and Interim Dean. He serves currently as Director of the Professional Doctorate in Educational Leadership and as Duquesne's Principal Investigator for the Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate.

He earned a Ph.D. in educational psychology at Indiana University where he received the Maris and Mary Higgins Proffitt Award for the Outstanding Dissertation and, more recently, an Outstanding Alumni Award. He has published eight books focused on the teaching-learning process in schools as well as numerous articles, papers, technical reports, curriculum materials and teaching manuals.

His more recent work in educational leadership is informed by his study of educational psychology as it bears on the scholarship of teaching and learning, of design-based research and development, of collaboration across the boundaries of school, academy and community, and of the nexus of research, advocacy, and policy as it bears on matters of social justice.

He is a developer for the Leaders Supporting Diverse Learners project of the University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA) in partnership with the Southern Poverty Law Center. He sits on the Professional Development and Training Committee of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), serves as coordinator AERA's Non Satis Scire essay project, and has received an AERA Presidential Citation Award for his contributions to educational research. He was elected, as a faculty member, to Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and to the Pennsylvania Society of Teaching Scholars.

At Duquesne, he has been inducted into the Office of Research Hall of Fame; he has received Creative Teaching Awards as well as his university's highest teaching award: the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching.