A A Email Print Share

Accomplishments Recognized at Duquesne University Convocation

As the 2006-07 academic year begins, Duquesne University President Charles J. Dougherty recognized schools and individuals at convocation on Friday, Sept. 8.

“I’m so pleased with the efforts of faculty and staff to serve God by serving students,” Dougherty said. “Thank you for your commitment to excellence in all you do.”

Dougherty highlighted a newly approved, updated core curriculum that will strengthen Duquesne’s dedication to offering coursework grounded in a moral and spiritual framework. The change becomes effective in Fall 2007.

Also, Dougherty discussed an application for the Pittsburgh Central Keystone Innovation Zone. Duquesne and the Hill House Economic Development Corp. are leading the proposal, with 14 other partners, in this economic development program. Initially, areas near Duquesne would be targeted to nurture new biotech companies. Partners would provide research and expertise for these new businesses.

Dougherty applauded a new, five-year program that will lead to a B.A. in psychology, a B.S. in health sciences and an M.S. in occupational therapy, and acknowledged the nation’s only weekend program leading to a doctorate in pharmacy, operating in Duquesne’s Mylan School of Pharmacy.

Faculty recognition included four President’s Awards for Faculty Excellence:

  • Excellence in Teaching, Dr. Christopher K. Surratt, associate professor in the Mylan School of Pharmacy
  • Excellence in Scholarship, Dr. Constance T. Fischer, professor in the McAnulty College & Graduate School of Liberal Arts
  • Excellence in Scholarship, Dr. Partha Basu, associate professor in the Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences
  • Excellence in Service, Dr. Anne Clifford, C.S.J., associate professor in the Department of Theology, director of the graduate theology program and chair of the University’s Core Curriculum Revision Committee and member and chair of many other groups outside and within the University.

Two endowed chairs were installed:

  • Dr. Rodney K. Hopson, School of Education, as Hillman Distinguished Professor.
  • Professor David Allen Wehr as Jack W. Geltz Distinguished Piano Chair in the Mary Pappert School of Music.

Four were recognized as 25-year faculty members:

  • Dr. George R. Bradley, associate professor of mathematics
  • Dr. Patricia M. Dunham, associate professor and chair of political science
  • Dr. Margaret Ruth Hicks, associate professor of modern languages and literatures
  • Stephen Michael Streib, J.D., professor of law.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and tradition of academic excellence. Duquesne, a campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, has been nationally recognized for its academic programs, community service and commitment to sustainability. Follow Duquesne University on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.