A A Email Print Share

Creative Teaching Awards Presented

Five Duquesne University faculty members received Creative Teaching Awards at the 2010 Celebration of Teaching Excellence ceremony on April 7.

After a welcome by President Charles Dougherty, the awards were conferred by Provost Ralph L. Pearson upon:

  • Erik Garrett, communication and rhetorical studies, McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
  • Robert Sroufe and Diane Ramos, MBA-Sustainability, School of Business
  • Deborah Scigliano, foundations and leadership, School of Education.
  • Sarah Woodley, biological sciences, Bayer School of Natural and Environmental Sciences.

Deans from the respective schools spoke about the honorees. This is the 18th year that Creative Teaching Awards have been presented by the Provost’s Office.

Additionally, for the eighth year, Graduate Student Awards for Excellence in Teaching were presented. This year’s winners were:

  • Timothy Evans, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Michelle Gaffey, English
  • Mary Kotlarczyk, pharmacy
  • Corina Wack, biological sciences
  • Kathy Weber, philosophy.

The annual Center for Teaching Excellence awards were designed to recognize faculty members who introduced innovative ways of teaching and assessed the impact it had on the learning process.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and tradition of academic excellence. Duquesne, a campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, has been nationally recognized for its academic programs, community service and commitment to sustainability. Follow Duquesne University on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.