A A Email Print Share

DU Wellness Team Honored for Community Service by State Pharmacy Association

The Pennsylvania Pharmacy Association (PPA) selected the Duquesne University Wellness Team to receive the 2011 George H. Searight Community Service Award.

The Wellness Team award recipients are Dr. Suzanne Higginbotham, director of pharmacy care, of Wexford, and clinical pharmacists Dr. Monica Skomo of Cranberry Township and Dr. Robert Laux of Bethel Park.

The Searight Award is presented to those whom have shown outstanding devotion and service to PPA and their national or local association and for outstanding community service that has enhanced the image of the profession within the community. The team received the award at the Sept. 24 PPA annual conference in King of Prussia, PA.

The Wellness Team is a part of Duquesne University’s Academic Partners Program, a pharmacist-coordinated provider of disease prevention and disease management services for the campus and Pittsburgh community. Team members offer complimentary health and wellness screenings to uninsured or medically underinsured populations. They have been able to provide more than 2,000 people with health screening and immunizations that otherwise would have been unavailable to them. The team consistently pursues efforts to educate and offer vaccinations on campus and to the community.

The PPA recognized the Wellness Team’s dedication to fulfilling Duquesne’s mission by providing health and wellness through service to the Church, the community, the nation and the world.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and tradition of academic excellence. Duquesne, a campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, has been nationally recognized for its academic programs, community service and commitment to sustainability. Follow Duquesne University on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.