A A Email Print Share

Duquesne Installs Seven New Endowed Chairs

Seven new endowed chair holders were installed at Duquesne University's 2015 convocation ceremony on Sept. 9.

The new chair holders are:

Dr. Ronald C. Arnett, the Patricia Doherty Yoder and Ronald Wolfe Endowed Chair in Communication Ethics

The inaugural holder of The Patricia Doherty Yoder and Ronald Wolfe Chair, Arnett is chair and professor of the Department of Communication & Rhetorical Studies. Previously the inaugural holder of The Henry Koren, C.S.Sp., Endowed Chair for Scholarly Excellence, he received the 2013 President's Award for Excellence in Scholarship and the 2005 Scholar of the Year Award from the Religious Communication Association. A scholar-pioneer in communication ethics, Arnett has earned international prominence as a scholar and is the author/co-author of nine books and four edited books.

Dr. Partha Basu, the Henry Koren, C.S.Sp., Endowed Chair in Scholarly Excellence

A professor of chemistry and biochemistry and Duquesne's first faculty member admitted to the Royal Society of Chemistry, Basu's research is in the broad area of bioinorganic chemistry, which combines design and synthesis of new molecules, detailed spectroscopic and kinetic analyses of compounds, protein expression and purification, with mass spectrometry. Basu holds two patents and has nearly 90 peer-reviewed publications. Additionally, he was one of the University's first recipients of startup funding from Innovation Works.

Dr. Laura Crothers, the Martin Hehir, C.S.Sp., Chair in Scholarly Excellence

Crothers, a professor in the school psychology program in the School of Education's Department of Counseling, Psychology and Special Education, is a nationally certified school psychologist who is recognized as a renowned expert in childhood bullying by the National Association of School Psychologists. Her research examines bullying in children and adolescents, and she is investigating ways to diminish relational and social aggression and increase interpersonal maturity in teens.

The author of more than 30 manuscripts, monographs, books and book chapters, Crothers has lectured regionally, nationally and internationally. She is chair of psychology of women for Division 16 of the American Psychological Association.

Nancy Perkins, the Noble J. Dick Endowed Chair in Academic Leadership

A member of the Duquesne law faculty since 1993, Perkins teaches property and environmental law. Her scholarship explores the intersection of these two areas with a special focus on sustainability, equity and feminism. Perkins served as associate dean of academic affairs at the law school from 2009-2014, and she has served as a member of the executive committee of the advisory council of the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection.

Dr. Eva M. Simms, the Adrian Van Kaam, C.S.Sp., Endowed Chair in Scholarly Excellence

Professor and director of the graduate program in psychology in the McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts, Simms is only the second holder of the Adrian Van Kaam, C.S.Sp., Chair. Her interdisciplinary interests in philosophy, psychology, ecology, poetry, spirituality and feminism converge in her writing and research on child psychology and eco-psychology. Simms' research group, PlaceLab, works with students to develop phenomenological concepts and methods for researching the intersection of community, nature and place in collaboration with community organizations.

Dr. John F. Stolz, the Noble J. Dick Endowed Chair in Community Outreach

Stolz, director of the Center for Environmental Research and Education, as well as professor of environmental microbiology, is involved in a number of outreach programs that promote science education and use of microbiology as a teaching tool, including the Pittsburgh Voyager Project, the Precollege Committee of the American Society for Microbiology and Microcosmos. His current research centers on the physiology and biochemistry of bacteria that transform metals and metalloids as well as microbial community structure.

Dr. Rick Zoucha, the Joseph A. Lauritis, C.S.Sp., Endowed Chair in Teaching and Technology

Zoucha, professor and chair of advanced role and doctoral nursing programs in the School of Nursing, is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing. A Certified Transcultural Nurse-Advanced, he also is certified by the American Nurses Credentialing Center as an Advanced Practice Adult Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse and a Clinical Nurse Specialist (Psychiatric Mental Health Clinical Nurse Specialist -Board Certified). Zoucha's research interests include understanding various phenomena related to health and well-being in the Nicaraguan, Mexican-American, African-American and African refugee and immigrant communities. A Leininger Award winner, he has presented nationally and internationally on issues of cultural care.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and tradition of academic excellence. Duquesne, a campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, has been nationally recognized for its academic programs, community service and commitment to sustainability. Follow Duquesne University on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.