A A Email Print Share

Faculty Recognized for Excellence, 25 Years of Service

Several faculty members were recognized at Duquesne University's annual Convocation on Sept. 7 for excellence in teaching and for providing 25 years of service to Duquesne.

Those receiving presidential awards were:

  • Dr. John Kern II, associate professor of statistics
  • Dr. Paula Witt-Enderby, associate professor of pharmacology-toxicology
  • Dr. Stephen Newmyer, professor of classics
  • Dr. Jeffry Madura, chair and professor of chemistry and biochemistry.

Kern was the recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching. Despite the challenge of teaching math to students who are not math majors and others who may be intimidated by math courses, Kern receives positive reviews from his students, whom he is always willing to help. He is known as an excellent, effective teacher who makes a positive impact on his students. On teaching introduction to probability, introduction to statistics and statistical computing, Kern said, "these three seem to inspire me the most."

Kern received the 2006-07 McAnulty College Excellence in Teaching Award and has served as a visiting faculty member at the Los Alamos National Laboratory, where he conducted research in the statistical sciences group.

Witt-Enderby received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Service to the Mission. She is recognized for her role as faculty advisor to the students of Kappa Epsilon, the professional pharmacy fraternity, her work as president of Duquesne's Faculty Senate, and the time she devotes to serving on numerous committees for the graduate school of pharmaceutical sciences. Witt-Enderby also reviews several papers each month for the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry , the Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics and Brain Research . Outside of campus, she sits on the YMCA's Board of Directors, co-chairs the Carnegie Science Fair and conducts experiments for students at local elementary and middle schools.

Newmyer was recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Scholarship. In addition to teaching a full course load, he has published four books, 37 scholarly articles in academic journals and nearly 30 book reviews. He is currently preparing to publish is fifth book. Newmyer's areas of specialty include human-animal relations in classical texts. He recently delivered Philo's Defense of the Biblical Concession to Humans of Dominion over Animals , at the meeting of the Classical Association of the Atlantic States.

Madura received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Scholarship. During his career, he has completed more than 70 publications and 34 peer-reviewed papers, and was recently recruited to co-author the latest edition of a leading freshman chemistry textbook in Canada. Madura also has served as an investigator on grant proposals totaling more than $3 million, and he is co-founder of Duquesne's Center for Computational Sciences.

Dr. Janie Fritz, associate professor in the communication and rhetorical studies department, was recognized for receiving the 2007 Eugene P. Beard Faculty Award for Leadership in Ethics.

The Beard Award, presented annually to a faculty member, honors those who best exemplify the University's commitment to moral and spiritual values through their outstanding leadership in ethics in family life or in University or community service. Fritz, who first began teaching at Duquesne in 1992, is director of the M.A. program and co-director of the B.A. program for the communication and rhetorical studies department.   She was selected for her impact as an educator and her dedication to serving both the University and its students.

Faculty members recognized for 25 years of service were:

  • Dr. Priscilla M. Austin, assistant professor of accounting, Palumbo/Donahue Schools of Business
  • Robert S. Barker, Duquesne University Distinguished Professor of Law
  • Sister Donna Marie Beck, C.S.J., professor and director of the Department of Music Therapy, Mary Pappert School of Music
  • Dr. Frank J. D'Amico, professor of mathematics, McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
  • Dr. David Hanson, associate professor of international business and director of international programs, Palumbo/Donahue Schools of Business
  • Dr. Rick McCown, professor of education and chair of educational foundations and leadership, School of Education
  • Margaret Patterson, associate professor of journalism and multimedia arts, McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts.

President Charles J. Dougherty applauded the entire faculty and staff for contributing to the success of the University and challenged them to institutionalize beneficial changes, weaving these changes into the fabric of daily University life.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and tradition of academic excellence. Duquesne, a campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, has been nationally recognized for its academic programs, community service and commitment to sustainability. Follow Duquesne University on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.