A A Email Print Share

Law Professor Receives $10,000 Excellence in Scholarship Award

Dr. Jacob Rooksby, assistant professor of law, was recently presented with the Dr. John and Liz Murray Excellence in Scholarship Award at Duquesne University. He is just the second faculty member to receive the $10,000 award.

"To be recognized by my peers in this way, with an award whose progenitor is the law school's most prolific, respected and widely known scholar, Chancellor Murray, is humbling and a deep honor," said Rooksby.

Rooksby teaches courses on the fundamentals of intellectual property; law and higher education; social media and the law; technology innovation law; and torts. His work has been published in the Harvard Journal of Law & Technology, the Yale Journal of Law & Technology, the Journal of Law & Education, the Akron Law Review and The Chronicle of Higher Education. Rooksby also is a contributing editor for the HigherEducationLaw blog.

"Law professors have a special duty to read the word and read the world, to use theory to inform practice," Rooksby added. "Since law is an applied profession, what we write can help shape institutions, legal systems and decision-making today. Practicing attorneys face different constraints and reward structures than we do. As I see it, we as law professors have the unique opportunity, and the obligation, to conduct research that quite literally can change how people think and act."

Rooksby, who resides in O'Hara Township, also is secretary/treasurer of the Pittsburgh Intellectual Property Law Association and is a member of the Association of University Technology Managers.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic universities for its award-winning faculty and tradition of academic excellence. Duquesne, a campus of nearly 9,500 graduate and undergraduate students, has been nationally recognized for its academic programs, community service and commitment to sustainability. Follow Duquesne University on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.